Graduate Research Library: A Library Guide to Jung's Collected Works: Jungian reference books

Jungian Psychology Reference Publications

A critical dictionary of Jungian analysis by Andrew Samuels; Bani Shorter; Fred Plaut
Call Number: BF173.J85 S275 1986
ISBN: 9781135856083
Publication Date: 2012
Available from Ebook Central
The language of Jung's writings, and of analytical psychology generally, is sometimes difficult to understand. This guide, in dictionary format, combines scholarship and historical accuracy with a stimulating, critical attitude.
Jung lexicon (from The Jung Page) by Daryl Sharp
Call Number: BF109.J8S53 1991
ISBN: 0919123481
Publication Date: 1991-01-01
Available as a free download from the publisher
For the past thirty years Jung's ideas have been explained and explored in hundreds of books. Jung Lexicon takes the reader to the source, showing the broad scope and interrelationship of Jung's interests. Definitions are accompanied by choice extracts from his Collected Works, with commentary and generous cross-references, Diagrams.
International Dictionary of Psychoanalysis (3 volumes)
ISBN: 9780028659244
Publication Date: 2005
Entries on Jungian Psychology: Active imagination | Amplification | Alchemy | Analytical Psychology | Animus-Anima | Archetype | Collective unconscious | Compensation | Complex | Ego | Extroversion/introversion | Individuation | Interpretation of Dreams (Analytical Psychology) | Numinous | Psychological types | Projection and "participation mystique" | Self | Shadow | Synchronicity | Transference/counter-transference

"To understand the underpinnings of this field is to shed light on how much of the Western world has understood itself through the 20th century. The International Dictionary of Psychoanalysis-- published in France in 2002 and now available in English -- is the most extensive reference work published on this topic. Not only does it represent all branches of the field, but it also defines the evolution of the different theoretical and clinical psychoanalytical concepts as well as the major individuals, works, events and institutions that have impacted the history of the psychoanalytical movement.
Additionally, it reveals the history of psychoanalysis in 50 countries and shows the relationship between psychoanalysis and other disciplines, with entries discussing writers, philosophers, literary movements and historical events. Articles include discussion of 900 concepts and notions, 360 biographies of the major psychoanalysts worldwide and 170 articles on their major works."

The Handbook of Jungian psychology by Renos K. Papadopoulos (Editor)
Call Number: BF173 .H333 2006
Publication Date: 2012
Available from Ebook Central

This Handbook is unique in presenting a clear, comprehensive and systematic exposition of the central tenets of Jung's work which has something to offer to both specialists and those seeking an introduction to the subject. Internationally recognised experts in Jungian Psychology cover the central themes in three sections: Theory, Psychotherapy & Applications. Each chapter begins with an introduction locating the topic in the context of Jung's work as a whole, before moving on to an investigation of contemporary developments and concluding by demonstrating how Jung's theories continue to evolve and develop through their practical therapeutic applications. The Handbook of Jungian Psychology is the definitive source of authoritative information on Jungian psychology for Jungian analysts, psychotherapists, counsellors and related professionals. It will be an invaluable aid to those involved in Jungian academic studies and related disciplines.
Jung’s approach to spirituality and religion. In APA handbook of psychology, religion, and spirituality by Lionel Corbett
Call Number: Lambert Library: REF BF51 .A53 2013
ISBN: 9781433810770
Publication Date: 2013
APA PsycBOOKS
ABSRACT: This chapter outlines some of the ways in which Jungian psychotherapy allows the psychotherapist to view the psyche and the process of psychotherapy from a spiritual as well as a clinical perspective. For the clinician, Jung’s approach has various advantages; it does not compartmentalize the patient’s spiritual and psychological lives, it allows the development of a spirituality that is not based on any traditional religious institution, and it allows an organic God image to emerge that has not been dictated by any specific theology. Because Jungian treatment is tailored to the unique needs and dynamics of the patient and the personality and theoretical preferences of the clinician, this approach does not lend itself to a standardized or 'manualized' format. Rather, foundational theoretical principles drawn from Jung inform clinical understanding, which, in turn, influences the therapist’s interventions and interpretations. This chapter presents these fundamental principles, which can be incorporated into different forms of depth psychotherapy.
Spiritual aspects of Jungian analytical psychology In Oxford handbook of psychology and spirituality by Joseph P. Wagenseller; Lisa J. Miller (Ed.)
ISBN: 9780199729920
Publication Date: 2012
Oxford Handbooks Online
This chapter includes a brief description of the life and work of Carl Gustav Jung, MD, with particular attention to his personal experience of the objective psyche and its articulation into a theoretical framework. Special emphasis is placed upon the transpersonal/spiritual dimension of the psyche and the applicability of Jung's theory and practice to achieve a dynamic relationship with the self. The individual's experience with the transpersonal aspect of the psyche is illustrated with examples from symptoms, dreams, and the phenomenon of synchronicity. Jung's psychological equivalent of a spiritual journey, known as the individuation process, is described and illustrated as an option for those for whom other, perhaps more traditional religious faiths and practices are no longer meaningfully effective. In conclusion, recommendations are made for future study and research.
The Routledge international handbook of Jungian film studies by Luke Hockley (Ed.)
ISBN: 9781317213123
Publication Date: 2019
"The Routledge International Handbook of Jungian Film Studies weaves together the various strands of Jungian film theory, revealing a coherent theoretical position underpinning this exciting recent area of research, while also exploring and suggesting new directions for further study. The book maps the current state of debates within Jungian orientated film studies and sets them within a more expansive academic landscape. Taken as a whole, the collection shows how different Jungian approaches can inform and interact with a broad range of disciplines, including literature, digital media studies, clinical debates and concerns. The book also explores the life of film outside cinema - what is sometimes termed 'post-cinema' - offering a series of articles exploring Jungian approaches to cinema and social media, computer games, mobile screens, and on-line communities. The Routledge International Handbook of Jungian Film Studies represents an essential resource for students and researchers interested in Jungian approaches to film. It will also appeal to those interested in film theory more widely, and in the application of Jung's ideas to contemporary and popular culture."

Print books available from the library:

The handbook of Jungian play therapy with children and adolescents (Print copy) by Eric J. Green
Call Number: Lambert library: REF RJ505.P6 G74 2014
ISBN: 9781421415109
Publication Date: 2014
"Demystifying Jungian play therapy for non-Jungian therapists interested in enhancing their clinical repertoire. Child and family psychotherapist Eric J. Green draws on years of clinical experience to explain his original model of Jungian play therapy. The empathic techniques he illuminates in The Handbook of Jungian Play Therapy with Children and Adolescents can effectively treat children who are traumatized by abuse, natural disasters, and other losses, as well as children who have attention deficit and autism spectrum disorders. The overarching goal of Green's Jungian play therapy model is to help children and adolescents become psychologically whole individuals. Toward that end, therapists encourage children to engage in sandplay, spontaneous drawing, and other expressive arts. Green demonstrates how therapists can create an atmosphere of warmth and psychological safety by observing the child's play without judgment and, through the therapeutic relationship, help children learn to regulate their impulses and regain emotional equilibrium. Designed for master's level and doctoral students, as well as school counselors, play therapists, and private practitioners, the book covers the theoretical underpinnings of "depth psychology" while highlighting easy-to-understand case studies from Green's own practice to illustrate Jungian play therapy applications at work."
Jungian dream interpretation: A handbook of theory and practice (Print copy) by James A. Hall
Call Number: BF1078.H263 1983
ISBN: 0919123120
Publication Date: 1983
"Comprehensive guide to an understanding of dreams in light of the basic principles of analytical psychology. Particular attention to common motifs, the role of complexes, and the goal and purpose of dreams"

C. G. Jung's Collected Works: The basics by Ann Yeoman and Kevin Lu
ISBN: 9781317213093
Publication Date: 2024
"This new introduction to Jung's Collected Works--written in lively and accessible style--provides a comprehensive guide to key concepts in analytical (Jungian) psychology while charting the creative evolution of Jung's thought through his own words. Invaluable to both beginners and those more experienced with Jungian theory, this book provides tables listing key readings for further study of the Collected Works, clear explication of fundamental principles, chapter summaries, prompts for deepening a critical engagement with Jung's texts, a glossary of key terms, and suggestions for further reading. This text will be an invaluable introduction for those coming to the Collected Works for the first time as well as a useful reference for readers familiar with the collection."
The Cambridge companion to Jung (2nd ed.) by Polly Young-Eisendrath (Editor); Terence Dawson (Editor)
Call Number: REF BF109.J8C36 2008
ISBN: 9781139001847
Publication Date: 2008
Available from Cambridge Companions

This second edition represents a wide-ranging critical introduction to the psychology of Carl Jung, one of the founders of psychoanalysis. Including two new essays and thorough revisions of most of the original chapters, it constitutes a radical assessment of his legacy. Andrew Samuels' introduction succinctly articulates the challenges facing the Jungian community. The fifteen essays set Jung in the context of his own time, outline the current practice and theory of Jungian psychology and show how Jungians continue to question and evolve his thinking and apply it to aspects of modern culture and psychoanalysis. The volume includes a full chronology of Jung's life and work, extensively revised and up to date bibliographies, a case study and a glossary. It is an indispensable reference tool for both students and specialists, written by an international team of Jungian analysts and scholars from various disciplines.
A guided tour of the Collected Works of C. G. Jung by Robert H. Hopcke
Call Number: REF BF173 .J85 H66
ISBN: 9781570624056
Publication Date: 1999
The writings of C. G. Jung himself are the best place to read about all his main ideas—but where to start, when Jung's Collected Works run to more than eighteen volumes? Robert H. Hopcke's guide to Jung's voluminous writings shows exactly the best place to begin for getting a handle on each of Jung's key concepts and ideas—from archetypal symbols to analytical psychology to UFOs. Each chapter explains one of Jung's principal concerns, then directs the reader where to read about it in depth in the Collected Works.

Each chapter includes a list of secondary sources to approach for further study—which the author has updated for this edition to include books published in the ten years since the Guided Tour's first appearance.

Collected works of C.G. Jung: Vol. 19. General bibliography
Call Number: BF23.J763 1966 v.19
ISBN: 9781400851027
Publication Date: 1992
As a current record of all of C. G. Jung's publications in German and in English, this volume will replace the general bibliography published in 1979 as Volume 19 of the Collected Works of C. G. Jung. In the form of a checklist, this new volume records through 1990 the initial publication of each original work by Jung, each translation into English, and all significant new editions, including paperbacks and publications in periodicals. The contents of the respective volumes of the Collected Works of C. G. Jung and the Gesammelte Werke (published in Switzerland) are listed in parallel to show the interrelation of the two editions. Jung's seminars are dealt with in detail. Where possible, information is provided about the origin of works that were first conceived as lectures. There are indexes of all publications, personal names, organizations and societies, and periodicals.

C. G. Jung Bibliography (compiled by Florent Serina)
- This link opens in a new window
"This essay, which lists the main publications dedicated to the history of C. G. Jung’s psychology, does not claim to be exhaustive. Nevertheless, it aims to provide a very broad overview of the historiography, from 1970 – the year Henri F. Ellenberger’s reference work was published – to the present. This selection, which is to be updated annually, is likely to contain errors and possible gaps. Readers are invited to report them by sending an email to: florent.serina@gmail.com."

Cross-Currents of Jungian Thought - An annotated bibliography - Online at The Jung Page by Donald Dyer
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: REF BF109.D94 1991
ISBN: 9781570629563
Publication Date: 2001
"The last several decades have witnessed a remarkable explosion of interest in the work of C. G. Jung. Nearly eight hundred books on Jungian subjects—ranging from ancient myths and symbols to the latest thinking on feminine and masculine psychology—have been issued to date—many of them in several editions. This comprehensive bibliography provides complete facts of publication and annotations for these English-language titles, including Jung's own writings, books about his life and work, and works by Jungian analysts and other Jungian-oriented writers, published up to 1990. The annotated listings—arranged chronologically to give an evolutionary view—provide an introduction to Jungian psychology by means of a twelve-fold classification of subjects. Further listings arranged by author and title make the book a complete reference tool. In addition, information on publishers of Jungian-oriented books and Jungian organizations is included in the appendixes." [Read more]
C. G. Jung and analytical psychology: A comprehensive bibliography by Joseph F. Vincie; Margreta Rathbauer-Vincie
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Lambert library: BF173.J85V55
ISBN: 0824098749
Publication Date: 1977
Available to read online from the Internet Archive: Books to Borrow collection.

"Containing 3,680 titles of works on Jung and analytical psychology and 344 titles of book reviews, this bibliography of books, articles in journals, and a section on book reviews of works by Jung is arranged chronologically (and alphabetically within each year) through 1975. Its international nature (it includes all major European languages) covers a wide range of subjects from psychology to philosophy, religion, mythology, literary criticism, and aesthetics. A work is defined as Jungian "if the author concerned himself with Jung, his work, or Analytical Psychology, if his article was published in a journal sponsored by a Jungian organization, or if he claimed to have been working within the Analytical Psychology tradition." Works by Jung are not included. Items are not annotated." —Abstract from "Jung's Psychology" in Cross-Currents of Jungian Thought: An Annotated Bibliography.
A bibliography of Jungian and post-Jungian literary criticism, 1980-2000 in Post-Jungian Criticism by Marcia Nichols
Call Number: PN98.P75P64 2004
ISBN: 9780791459577
Publication Date: 2004
"The following offers to supplement Jos van Meurs’s Jungian Literary Criticism, 1920–1980, updating van Meurs’s bibliography through the year 2000. No longer a single, unified, clearly identifiable, and delineated field ... recent Jungian criticism has expanded and, in many ways, blurred and dissolved its traditional boundaries, complicating and critiquing itself, metamorphosing into numerous post-Jungian strains. At the same time, literary theory generally—given its poststructuralist, hybridizing tendencies—has re-appropriated the traditional vocabulary to serve in nontraditional and often, indeed, non-Jungian contexts. The loose, popular currency of “archetype” especially makes bibliographic work a hazardous duty; understandably, readers may quarrel with individual works listed or left out. But while the following list cannot claim to be exhaustive, it does reflect the range and diversity of current Jungian and post-Jungian criticism."

A Library Guide to Jung's Collected Works

Jungian Psychology Reference Publications

Print books available from the library:

C. G. Jung Bibliography (compiled by Florent Serina)