Graduate Research Library: Library Guide to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: Library Guide to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

This guide to library resources supports exploration into the critical topics of diversity, equity, and inclusion.

We have provided a tab of search strategies to facilitate further engagement with this dynamic area of study, and we continue to add relevant resources to the guide as they become available.
For assistance with additional or in-depth research needs, please contact our reference librarians.

Mission Statement & Core Values Diversity & Inclusion Council Addressing Systemic Racism

Recent additions to the library catalog:

Humanistic Approaches to Multiculturalism and Diversity

L. Hoffman, H. Cleare-Hoffman, N. Granger, D. St. John (Eds.)

Hagitude: Reimagining the second half of life

Sharon Blackie

When half is whole: Multiethnic Asian American identities

Stephen Murphy-Shigematsu

Embodied activism: Engaging the body to cultivate liberation, justice, and authentic connection

Rae Johnson

Campus counterspaces: Black and Latinx students' search for community at historically white universities

Micere Keels

Becoming kin: An Indigenous call to unforgetting the past and reimagining our future

Patty Krawec

Race and the unconscious: An Africanist depth psychology perspective on dreaming

Fanny Brewster

We walk: Life with severe autism
Amy S. F. Lutz

Muslim Cool: Race, religion, and hip hop in the United States

Su'ad Abdul Khabeer

Mixed: Multiracial college students tell their life stories

Andrew C. Garrod, Robert Kilkenny, and Christina Gomez

Traces of history: Elementary structures of race

Patrick Wolfe

Queering philosophy

Kim Q. Hall

Brown trans figurations: Rethinking race, gender, and sexuality in Chicanx/Latinx studies

Francisco J. Galarte

The hidden treasure of Black ASL: Its history and structure

Carolyn McCaskill, et. al.

A new psychology based on community, equality, and care of the earth: An Indigenous American perspective

Arthur W. Blume

Pollution is colonialism

Max Liboiron

Understanding Korean Americans' mental health

Anderson Sungmin Yoon (Ed.)

The colonial shadow: A Jungian investigation of settler psychology

Kira Celeste

Sand therapy for out of control sexual behavior, shame, and trauma: Treatment approaches beyond words

Peg Hurley Dawson

Restorative justice, reconciliation, and peacebuilding

Jennifer J. Llewellyn and Daniel Philpott (Eds.)

Sensory: Life on the spectrum: An Autistic Comics Anthology

Bex Ollerton

Earth beings: Ecologies of practice across Andean worlds

Marisol de la Cadena

The critique of coloniality: Eight essays

Rita Segato

They/them/their: A guide to nonbinary and genderqueer identities

Eris Young

Racism without racists: Color-blind racism and the persistence of racial inequality in America

Eduardo Bonilla-Silva

Jungian reflections on systemic racism: Members of an American psychoanalytic community on training, practice and inclusivity

Christopher Jerome Carter & Tiffany Houck

Exploring depth psychology and the female self: Feminist themes from somewhere

Leslie Gardner & Catriona Miller (Eds.)

The new heroines in film and television: Post-Jungian perspectives on contemporary female characters

Helena Bassil-Morozow

Anima and Africa: Jungian essays on psyche, land, and literature

Matthew A. Fike

Queer spiritual spaces: Sexuality and sacred spaces

Kath Browne, Sally R. Munt, Andrew Kam-Tuck Yip

A depth psychology model of immigration and adaptation: The migrant's journey

Phyllis Marie Jensen

Cultural complexes of Latin America: Voices of the South

Thomas Singer (Ed.)

Major encyclopedias and handbooks on Diversity Studies

Encyclopedia entries
Handbooks

Encyclopedia of diversity and social justice by Sherwood Thompson
ISBN: 9781442216044
Publication Date: 2014
"The Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice contains over 300 entries alphabetically arranged for straightforward and convenient use by scholars and general readers alike. It is a comprehensive and systematic collection of designated entries that describe, in detail, important diversity and social justice themes. This book reveals the unique nature of the language of diversity and social justice and makes the connection between how this language influences—negatively and positively—institutions and society."

Entries on Diversity from specialized encyclopedias:

Human Diversity: Ency. of anthropology (2006).
Diversity: International encyclopedia of the social sciences (2008).
Diversity Issues: SAGE encyc. of qualitative research methods (2008).
Diversity | Inclusion/Exclusion: Ency. of group processes & intergroup relations (2010).
Biocultural and Linguistic Diversity: Ency. of environmental ethics and philosophy (2009).
Cultural Diversity in Trauma Response: Ency. of trauma: An interdisciplinary guide (2012).
Diversity | Diversity Issues in Career Development | Organizational Diversity: Ency. of counseling (2008).
Diversity of the Religious Experience: Science, religion, and society: An encyc. of history, culture, and controversy (2006).

Routledge international handbook of diversity studies by Steven Vertovec (Editor)
ISBN: 9781317600695
Publication Date: 2014
"Today the foremost categories shaping discourses and policies of diversity include race, ethnicity, religion, gender, disability, sexuality and age; further important notions include class, language, locality, lifestyle and legal status. The Routledge International Handbook of Diversity Studies will examine a range of such concepts along with historical and contemporary cases concerning social and political dynamics surrounding them."
Diversity in mind and in action (Three volumes) by Jean Lau Chin (Ed.)
ISBN: 9780313347085
Publication Date: 2009
"The importance of understanding, supporting, and acting to encourage cultural diversity across social, psychological, political, legal, career, and educational avenues is addressed in this one-stop source for the latest research, developments, and updates. Social privilege for certain groups, the oppression of others, and methods to teach diversity necessary for our future are all addressed. Contributors, from psychologists to educators to social workers, also take a close look at programs spurring success in diversity in the United States and globally. This dynamic, revealing work demonstrates that we must expand—and are expanding—our definition of diversity to include, not only race and ethnicity, but also sexual orientation, religion, and disability. The challenge for those who want a society that honors all is to establish equity for all. While full victory in that challenge has been slow to come, Diversity in Mind and in Action makes it clear that there are success stories to be shared—and new avenues to be spotlighted."
Routledge international handbook of contemporary racisms by John Solomos (Ed.)
ISBN: 9781351047319
Publication Date: 2020
"The Routledge International Handbook of Contemporary Racisms brings together thirty-four original chapters from international experts that address key features of contemporary racisms. The Handbook has a truly global orientation and covers contemporary racisms in both the western and non-western geopolitical environments. Written in a clear and direct style, and from a conceptual, multidisciplinary and international perspective, this Handbook will provide students, scholars and practitioners with an overview of the most pressing issues of racism in our time."