Graduate Research Library: Library Guide to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: Social Justice

Cultural Competence and Awareness

Cross-cultural psychology: Why culture matters by Krum Krumov; Knud S. Larsen
ISBN: 9781623963163
Publication Date: 2013
"Cross-Cultural Psychology: Why Culture Matters addresses both established and very recent research in cultural and comparative cross-cultural psychology. The book is written by Professor Krum Krumov of Sofia University in Bulgaria and Professor Knud S. Larsen from Oregon State University. The authors are long-term colleagues with extensive research experience in cultural, cross-cultural and international settings. The book starts with a discussion of the tentative nature of cultural information given the forces of globalization and communication integration. Weighing these issues still permits for some powerful conclusions about differences that matter as well as human universals based on our communalities. The reader is also provided with a through grounding in relevant research approaches and critical thinking that provides the basis for an evaluation of the research literature. Further, the book reports on what we know about the origin of culture, especially the forces of cultural transmission and the evidence for socio-cultural evolution. The impact of culture and psychology on human development is contrasted and evaluated. A chapter on language stresses the importance of evolutionary forces and the relationship to socio-culture."
Debating cultural hybridity: Multi-cultural identities and the politics of anti-racism by Homi Bhabha (Foreword by); Pnina Werbner, Tariq Modood & Richard Werbner (Eds.)
ISBN: 9781783601615
Publication Date: 2015
"Why is it still so difficult to negotiate differences across cultures? In what ways does racism continue to strike at the foundations of multiculturalism? Bringing together some of the world's most influential postcolonial theorists, this classic collection examines the place and meaning of cultural hybridity in the context of growing global crisis, xenophobia and racism. Starting from the reality that personal identities are multicultural identities, Debating Cultural Hybridity illuminates the complexity and the flexibility of culture and identity, defining their potential openness as well as their closures, to show why anti-racism and multiculturalism are today still such hard roads to travel."
Dialogue across difference: Practice, theory and research on intergroup dialogue by Patricia Gurin, Biren (Ratnesh) A. Nagda, Ximena Zuniga
ISBN: 9781610448055
Publication Date: 2013
"Due to continuing immigration and increasing racial and ethnic inclusiveness, higher education institutions in the United States are likely to grow ever more diverse in the 21st century. How can we help diverse students learn from each other and gain the competencies they will need in an increasingly multicultural America? Dialogue Across Difference synthesizes three years' worth of research from an innovative field experiment focused on improving intergroup understanding, relationships and collaboration. The result is a fascinating study of the potential of intergroup dialogue to improve relations across race and gender. The data and research presented in this volume offer a useful model for improving relations among different groups not just in the college setting but in the United States, as well."
Exploring the unsaid: Creativity, risks and dilemmas in working cross-culturally by Alice Sawyerr; Barry Mason (Eds.)
ISBN: 9781855752900
Publication Date: 2002-12-31
"The editors and contributing authors of this volume have taken a truly pioneering and courageously challenging look at the state of cross-cultural theory and practice. In confronting directly and honestly a broad range of cross-cultural issues they have succeeded in formulating a thoughtful and innovative framework for progress in this complex and demanding field. Amongst the numerous issues examined with thoroughness and insight, the following may be identified as of central importance: Perceptions and experiences of 'sameness' and 'difference'; 'collectivist' and 'individualist' cultural tendencies; internalised and institutionalised racism; religious beliefs and spiritualities; kinship roles and familial values; sexism, poverty and beliefs about mental health. Supported and illustrated with excellent clinical material these issues receive impressive exploration. Probing and perceptive about the relationships between clients and practitioners and between mental health professionals themselves, this volume offers both conceptually and practically a genuinely enriching and groundbreaking guide that points the way forward in a spirit of confidence and hope."
Head games: De-colonizing the psychotherapeutic process by Nikitah Okembe-RA Imani
ISBN: 9780761851738
Publication Date: 2010
"Head Games is focused on the way in which ethnocentrism and cultural bias can impact public health, and in this case, psychotherapeutic process. It examines a family therapy program being run by a major public university, tied to the criminal justice system and the educational establishment, aiming to reform perceived 'dysfunctionality' in homes of the 'patients' (subjects). What follows is a tragic comedy of errors in which theory and practice normed in one sociocultural context is applied, or more appropriately, misapplied. This book questions whether we have come as far as we think in the US in terms of calibrating our mental health systems for multicultural sensitivity and perhaps suggests there are limits to how much we can engage in cross-cultural therapy. The book uses an Africa-centered theoretical framework to tease out these systemic incongruities and will hopefully provide guidance for counselors, researchers, and those more generally interested in programmatic evaluation research across cultural lines. The title, Head Games, is an apt metaphor for the manipulation of the program by all of its participants for the purpose of reifying or resisting its inherent definitions of abnormality."
Moving beyond prejudice reduction: Pathways to positive intergroup relations by Linda R. Tropp (Editor)
ISBN: 9781433809286
Publication Date: 2011
"This edited volume moves beyond social psychology's traditional focus on prejudice reduction, to explore novel approaches to improving relations and fostering empathy between members of socially dominant 'ingroups' and oppressed/victimized 'outgroups.' The contributors to this volume explore these issues across three theoretical and conceptual dimensions: reconceptualizing how we think about intergroup attitudes, examining motivations and expectations across group boundaries, and promoting closeness and inclusion in cross-group relationships. The book's final grouping of chapters applies these concepts to forgiveness, reparation, and reconciliation among different ethnopolitical groups in postconflict societies."
Teaching gender and multicultural awareness: Resources for the psychology classroom by Phyllis Bronstein; Kathryn Quina (Editor)
ISBN: 1557989915
Publication Date: 2003
"This volume provides information about how to integrate topics of diversity into a variety of psychology courses and programmes of study. Because psychology now contains a rich body of knowledge that reaches across gender, social and cultural lines, a single class about gender or cross-cultural studies is no longer sufficient to teach students about multiculturalism. Instead, such issues need to be incorporated into each part of the psychology curriculum. The book aims to help instructors integrate information about diversity into their classes and directs them to useful printed, video and Internet resources. It also includes creative projects and exercises that they can use in introductory or graduate level courses. Chapters discuss groups typically considered in a multicultural course (ie, Latinos, Asians and African Americans) as well as individuals who are often overlooked, such as disabled, older adults and lesbian, gay and bisexual people. The book concludes with a section describing models for broader curricular change,such as in clinical doctoral training and continuing educations programmes."

Counseling American minorities: A cross-cultural perspective by Donald R. Atkinson
Call Number: RC451.5.A2C68 2004 (Lambert)
ISBN: 0697361853
Publication Date: 2003
"Counseling American Minorities provides information about the history and experiences, physical and mental health needs, and treatment preferences of African Americans, American Indians, Asian Americans, and Hispanic Americans, as well as an examination of how psychological service providers might better provide mental health services to members of each group. Chapters were written by multicultural experts who have first-hand personal and professional exposure to the experiences and needs of members of each group."
Counseling multicultural and diverse populations: Strategies for practitioners by Nicholas A. Vacc; Susan B. DeVaney (Eds.)
Call Number: HV3176 .C68 2003 (Ladera)
ISBN: 9781138871779
Publication Date: 2015
"The purpose of this book is to expose students of the helping professions, counselors, teachers, college professors, mental health workers, and social workers to the unique characteristics of representative American subgroups and to effectively assist these same professionals as they work with clients and/or students from these populations. These are grouped by race, gender, sexuality, age, physical limitations and lifestyle etc. The author of each chapter is both a trained helping professional and a member of the group in question. This unique combination of qualifications lends both an academic and a personal perspective to the understanding of the populations represented."
Cultural complexes and the soul of America: Myth, psyche, and politics by Thomas Singer (Editor)
Call Number: E169.12 .C7675 2020 (Lambert)
ISBN: 9780367272357
Publication Date: 2020
"Cultural Complexes and the Soul of America explores many of the cultural complexes that comprise the collective psychic-filtering system of emotions, ideas, and beliefs that possess the United States today. With chapters by an international selection of leading authors, the book covers ideas both broad and specific, and presents unique insight into the current state of the nation. The voices included in this volume amplify contemporary concerns, linking them to themes which have existed in the American psyche for decades while also looking to the future. Part One examines meta themes, including history, purity, dominion, and democracy in the age of Trump. Part Two looks at key complexes including race, gender, the environment, immigration, national character, and medicine. The overall message is that it is in wrestling with these complexes that the soul of America is forged or undone. This highly relevant book will be essential reading for academics and students of Jungian and post-Jungian ideas, politics, sociology, and American studies. It will also be of great interest to Jungian analysts in practice and in training, and anyone interested in the current state of the US."
Cultural diversity: A primer for the human services by Jerry V. Diller
Call Number: HV3176 .D55 2011 (Lambert)
ISBN: 9780840032256
Publication Date: 2010
"Cultural diversity: A primer for the human services provides the tools you need to become a successful and effective counselor. This innovative text covers a variety of topics, ranging from the general principles of cultural diversity to how to work with clients from various cultures. It's the perfect text to prepare you for a successful career in counseling."
Culture, psychotherapy, and counseling: Critical and integrative perspectives by Lisa Tsoi Hoshmand
Call Number: RC455.4.E8C853 2006 (Ladera)
ISBN: 9780761930518
Publication Date: 2005
"Culture, Psychotherapy, and Counseling: Critical and Integrative Perspectives takes a comprehensive approach to culture as it relates to psychological practice. By viewing psychotherapy and counseling as science-based cultural enterprises, this book expands the understanding of culture in terms of the politics of identity, symbolic and practice meanings, moral ontology, and global realities. Editor Lisa Tsoi Hoshmand brings together a diverse group of authors to present different accounts and case examples of their work as practitioners to illustrate the integration of the personal with the professional. A variety of theoretical and clinical issues are discussed, including psychological trauma, depression, chronic illness, and other problems presented by clients for whom a culturally informed practice is essential."
Intercultural communication: A reader by Larry A. Samovar; Richard E. Porter
Call Number: HM258 .I52 1991 (Lambert)
ISBN: 9780534515737
Publication Date: 1996
"This broad-based reader introduces students to the theoretical and practical aspects of intercultural communication. It is a collection of 45 readings of both enduring insight and immediate relevancy, introducing practice and underlying theories essential to communicating with other cultures. Chapters include: Basic principles of intercultural communication; On communicating with deaf people; Gender and communication: an intimate relationship; Explaining intercultural differences in nonverbal communication; Stumbling blocks in intercultural communication; and Prejudice in intercultural communication."
Multi-cultural literacy: Opening the American mind by Rick Simonson; Scott Walker (Eds.)
Call Number: PN6120.2.G72 (Lambert)
ISBN: 1555971148
Publication Date: 1988
"The issue of cultural literacy has been the subject of intense debate. Several bestselling books about the deficiencies of our educational system as well as changes in basic curriculum at more than one major university have contributed to the fervor of this debate. Fueling the national controversy is the question of what body of knowledge constitutes cultural literacy. While many argue for a return to a 'back to basics' curriculum, equally energetic voices call for a revised curriculum, one which embraces both traditional western classics and the classics of non-European cultures, among them African, Asian, and Latin American. This volume brings together thirteen essays which suggest the range of knowledge truly literate individuals need to possess. Essays by such writers as James Baldwin, Carlos Fuentes, Michelle Cliff, Paula Gunn Allen, Ishmael Reed, and Wendell Berry enlarge our perspective to include a variety of voices and heritages which contribute to the vibrant culture of the United States. Also included is a beginning list of names, places, dates, and concepts which are part and parcel of a multi-cultural fabric."
The multicultural imagination: Race, color, and the unconscious by Michael Vannoy Adams
Call Number: BF175.4.R34V36 1996 (Lambert and Ladera)
ISBN: 0415138388
Publication Date: 1996
A Diversity and Inclusion Council recommended book.
"The Multicultural Imagination is a challenging inquiry into the complex interrelationship between our ideas about race and color and the unconscious. Michael Vannoy Adams takes a fresh look at the contributions of psychoanalysis to a question which affects every individual who tries to establish an effective personal identity in the context of their received 'racial' identity. Adams argues that 'race' is just as important as sex or any other content of the unconcscious, drawing on clinical case materal from contemporary patients for whom 'race' or color is a vitally significant social and political concern that impacts on them personally. He does not assume that racism or 'colorism' will simply vanish if we psychoanalyse them, but shows how a non-defensive ego and a self-image that is receptive to other-images can move us towards a more productive discourse of cultural differences. Wide-ranging in its references and scope, this is a book that provokes the reader - analyst or not - to confront personally those unconscious attitudes which stand in the way of authentic multicultural relationships."
The spirit catches you and you fall down: A Hmong child, her American doctors, and the collision of two cultures by Anne Fadiman
Call Number: RA418.5.T73F33 1998 (Lambert and Ladera)
ISBN: 0374525641
Publication Date: 1998
"The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down explores the clash between a small county hospital in California and a refugee family from Laos over the care of Lia Lee, a Hmong child diagnosed with severe epilepsy. Lia's parents and her doctors both wanted what was best for Lia, but the lack of understanding between them led to tragedy. Anne Fadiman's compassionate account of this cultural impasse is literary journalism at its finest."
Teaching from a multicultural perspective by Helen Roberts, et al.
Call Number: LC1099.3.T435 1994 (Ladera)
ISBN: 0803956134
Publication Date: 1994
"Teaching from a Multicultural Perspective, one of the volumes in Sage's Survival Skills for Scholars series, is a commonsense primer for developing multicultural pedagogies, courses, curricula, and most important, institutions. Helen Roberts and her associates set out practical strategies and principles for teaching, mentoring, and fostering the academic (and personal) success of minority and nontraditional students. Although this book covers issues relating to multiculturalism on campus that may already be familiar to many of us, it nonetheless should be of interest to advisors who also teach, who are involved in teacher training, or who are involved in resource networking, and who would like to share a basic introduction to the issues with new instructors or other advisors."
Transcultural realities: Interdisciplinary perspectives on cross-cultural relations by Virginia H. Milhouse; Molefi Kete Asante; Peter O. (Ogom) Nwosu
Call Number: HM1211.T73 2001 (Lambert)
ISBN: 0761923756
Publication Date: 2001
"Transcultural Realities is an important collection of essays written by an outstanding cast of critical scholars who discuss the importance of transculture in interdisciplinary contexts. The primary goal of the contributors is to help the reader to understand that a state of 'community' or 'harmony' cannot be achieved in the world until we are all ready to accept different cultural forms, norms, and orientations. In this book, transculture is defined as a form of culture created not from within separate spheres, but in the holistic forms of diverse cultures. It is based on the principle that a single culture, in and of itself, is incomplete and requires interaction and dialogue with other cultures."

Encyclopedia of counseling: Vol. 3. Cross-cultural counseling by Frederick Leong (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412909280
Publication Date: 2008
"Professional counseling involves helping clients, individually or in groups, or as couples and families, deal with various career, vocational, educational, and emotional problems. Whether performed by psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers, psychiatric nurses, or counselors, thousands of professionals throughout the United States, as well as the world, are providing counseling services to fellow human beings to help them address and resolve the various problems of living that exceed their coping resources and social support. The Encyclopedia of Counseling provides a comprehensive overview of the theories, models, techniques, and challenges involved in professional counseling. With approximately 600 entries, this definitive resource covers all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in counseling. The four volumes of this Encyclopedia are flexibly designed so they can be use together as a set or separately by volume, depending on the need of the user."
Handbook of cultural intelligence: Theory, measurement, and applications by Soon Ang; Linn Van Dyne
ISBN: 9780765622624
Publication Date: 2009
"Cultural intelligence is defined as an individual's ability to function effectively in situations characterized by cultural diversity. With contributions from eminent scholars worldwide, the Handbook of Cultural Intelligence is a 'state-of-the-science' summary of the body of knowledge about cultural intelligence and its relevance for managing diversity both within and across cultures. Because cultural intelligence capabilities can be enhanced through education and experience, this handbook emphasizes individual capabilities—specific characteristics that allow people to function effectively in culturally diverse settings—rather than the approach used by more traditional books of describing and comparing cultures based on national cultural norms, beliefs, habits, and practices."
Handbook of multicultural competencies in counseling and psychology by Donald B. Pope-Davis; Hardin L. K. Coleman; William Ming Liu; Rebecca L. Toporek
Call Number: REF BF637.C6H3173 2003 (Lambert and Ladera)
ISBN: 0761923063
Publication Date: 2003
"Cultural differences affect the way people think, feel, and act. In an increasingly diverse society, multicultural competency in research and counseling is not merely a matter of political correctness. It is a matter of scientific and professional responsibility. The Handbook of Multicultural Competencies in Counseling and Psychology is the first book to offer the theoretical background, practical knowledge, and training strategies needed to achieve multicultural competence. Focusing on a wide range of professional settings, editors Donald B. Pope-Davis, Hardin L.K. Coleman, William Ming Liu, and Rebecca L. Toporek provide a compendium of the latest research related to multicultural competency and the hands-on framework to develop specialized multicultural practices."

Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology

Ejournals (EBSCO): 1995 - present.
"Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology seeks to advance the psychological science of culture, ethnicity, and race through the publication of empirical research, as well as theoretical, conceptual, and integrative review articles that will stimulate further empirical research, on basic and applied psychological issues relevant to racial and ethnic groups that have been historically subordinated, underrepresented, or underserved."

Journal of Ethnic And Cultural Diversity in Social Work

Taylor & Francis: 1997 - present.
"The Journal of Ethnic And Cultural Diversity in Social Work is dedicated to the examination of multicultural social issues as they relate to social work policy, research, theory, and practice. The journal helps readers develop knowledge and promote understanding of the impact of culture, race, ethnicity, and class on the individual, group, organization, and community on the delivery of human services."

Multicultural Perspectives

Ejournals (EBSCO): 1999 - present.
" Multicultural Perspectives promotes the philosophy of social justice, equity, and inclusion. It celebrates cultural and ethnic diversity as a national strength that enriches the fabric of society. This journal encourages a range of material from academic to personal perspectives, poetry, and art; articles of an academic nature illuminating the discussion of cultural pluralism and inclusion; articles and position papers reflecting a variety of disciplines; and reviews of film, art, and music that address or embody multicultural forms."

Alizadeh, S., & Chavan, M. (2016). Cultural competence dimensions and outcomes: A systematic review of the literature. Health & Social Care in the Community, 24(6), e117–e130. https://doi.org/10.1111/hsc.12293

Antón-Solanas, I., Tambo-Lizalde, E., Hamam-Alcober, N., Vanceulebroeck, V., Dehaes, S., Kalkan, I., Kömürcü, N., Coelho, M., Coelho, T., Nova, A. C., Cordeiro, R., Sagarra-Romero, L., Subirón-Valera, A. B., & Huércanos-Esparza, I. (2021). Nursing students’ experience of learning cultural competence. PLoS ONE, 16(12). https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0259802

Cabrera, N. J. (2022). Commentary: Recognizing our similarities and celebrating our differences – parenting across cultures as a lens toward social justice and equity. Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry, 63(4), 480–483. https://doi.org/10.1111/jcpp.13600

Comeaux, E., Grummert, S. E., & Mireles, D. C. (2021). A critical review of the literature on cultural competency in student affairs: Toward transformative cultural responsiveness. Journal of Diversity in Higher Education. https://doi.org/10.1037/dhe0000363

Day, V. N. L., Cluxton, K. F., Agorsor, C., & Gubara, S. (2021). Strategies for broaching the subjects of race, ethnicity, and culture. Journal of Counseling & Development, 99(3), 348–357. https://doi.org/10.1002/jcad.12380

Henderson, S., Horne, M., Hills, R., & Kendall, E. (2018). Cultural competence in healthcare in the community: A concept analysis. Health & Social Care in the Community, 26(4), 590–603. https://doi.org/10.1111/hsc.12556

Lui, P. P., Gobrial, S., Pham, S., Giadolor, W., Adams, N., & Rollock, D. (2022). Open science and multicultural research: Some data, considerations, and recommendations. Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology, 28(4), 567–586. https://doi.org/10.1037/cdp0000541.supp (Supplemental)

Olson, R., Bidewell, J., Dune, T., & Lessey, N. (2016).Developing cultural competence through self-reflection in interprofessional education: Findings from an Australian university. Journal of Interprofessional Care, 30(3), 347–354. https://doi.org/10.3109/13561820.2016.1144583

Ratts, M. J., Singh, A. A., Nassar, M. S., Butler, S. K., & McCullough, J. R. (2016). Multicultural and social justice counseling competencies: Guidelines for the counseling profession. Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development, 44(1), 28–48. https://doi.org/10.1002/jmcd.12035

So, J. K. (2008). Somatization as cultural idiom of distress: Rethinking mind and body in a multicultural society. Counselling Psychology Quarterly, 21(2), 167–174. https://doi.org/10.1080/09515070802066854

Thompson, J., & Mayes, C. (2020). Healing cultural divides: A Jungian approach. Psychological Perspectives, 63(2), 248–259. https://doi.org/10.1080/00332925.2020.1771996

Equity and Inequity

Eliminating inequities for women with disabilities: An agenda for health and wellness by Shari E. Miles-Cohen; Caroline Signore
ISBN: 1433822539
Publication Date: 2016
"Women with disabilities often have difficulty accessing health care services, and the quality of the health care they do receive is often worse than the care received by women without disabilities and men with disabilities. The consequences of these disparities include increased prevalence of secondary complications, diminished quality of life, and even premature death. In this book, researchers from a range of disciplines, with expertise in a range of disabilities, investigate the causes and consequences of these health care disparities and offer plans for action to improve wellness, health promotion, and disease prevention among this broad yet consistently under-served population. Using an integrated care framework as a foundation, authors tackle the structural, environmental, and social barriers that prevent women with disabilities from accessing effective and culturally-competent care and services, and address related issues including psychosocial health, interpersonal violence, health care policy, health promotion, disease prevention programs, and telehealth, as well as reproductive and sexual health, and dental care."
Equity and justice in developmental science: Theoretical and methodological issues by Stacey S. Horn; Martin D. Ruck; Lynn S. Liben (Eds.)
ISBN: 9780128018972
Publication Date: 2016
"The first of two volumes in the Advances in Child Development and Behavior series, Equity and Justice in Developmental Science: Theoretical and Methodological Issues focuses on conceptual issues, definitions, and critical concepts relevant to equity and justice for the developmental sciences. This volume covers critical methodological issues that serve to either challenge or advance our understanding of, and ability to promote, equity and justice in the developmental sciences. Both volumes bring together a growing body of developmental scholarship that addresses how issues relevant to equity and justice (or their opposites) affect development and developmental outcomes, as well as scholarship focused on mitigating the developmental consequences of inequity, inequality, and injustice for young people, families, and communities and ensuring that all young people have opportunities to develop and thrive."
Healthy voices, unhealthy silence: Advocacy and health policy for the poor by Colleen M. Grogan, Michael K. Gusmano
ISBN: 9781589011823
Publication Date: 2007
"Public silence in policymaking can be deafening. When advocates for a disadvantaged group decline to speak up, not only are their concerns not recorded or acted upon, but also the collective strength of the unspoken argument is lessened—a situation that undermines the workings of deliberative democracy by reflecting only the concerns of more powerful interests. But why do so many advocates remain silent on key issues they care about and how does that silence contribute to narrowly defined policies? What can individuals and organizations do to amplify their privately expressed concerns for policy change? In Healthy Voices, Unhealthy Silence, Colleen M. Grogan and Michael K. Gusmano address these questions through the lens of state-level health care advocacy for the poor."
Jungian reflections on systemic racism: Members of an American psychoanalytic community on training, practice and inclusivity by Christopher Carter; Tiffany Houck-Loomis (Eds.)
ISBN: 9781032318042
Publication Date: 2023
"This important collection explores the attitude of white supremacy in analytic psychology starting with its founder, Carl Gustav Jung, utilizing Jungian analytic theory to explore ways in which the erroneous promotion of race ideology in psychoanalysis may be unmasked and corrected to further psychoanalytic theory and practice. The book examines pejorative othering through intrapsychic and inter-relational lenses, identifying under-addressed attitudes and behaviors in which analytic training programs and learning communities may promote an attitude of white supremacy that lurks within Jungian theory. Through personal experiences and clinical vignettes, the authors exemplify a psychoanalytic method of deconstructing systematized and systemic racism within Jungian theory and within the practices of Jungians. In doing so, they utilize the specificity and ingenuity of Jung's analytic paradigm to offer insight into the work of anti-racism from a depth psychological perspective."
Navigating difficult moments in teaching diversity and social justice by Mary E. Kite; Kim A. Case; Wendy R. Williams (Eds.)
ISBN: 9781433832932
Publication Date: 2020
"This essential resource helps educators tackle the most common and challenging dilemmas that arise in today's classroom—such as diversity, privilege, and intersectionality. This book examines common challenges that arise for educators teaching social justice and diversity-related courses and offers best practices for addressing them. Contributors cover issues such as the many roles instructors play, inside and outside of college and university classrooms, for example, in handling personal threats, responsibly incorporating current events related to social justice into classroom discussion, navigating one's own stigmatized or privileged identities, dealing with bias in teaching evaluations, and engaging in self-care. The authors' backgrounds offer unique perspectives from which to approach such complex subject matter; several contributors are feminist or intersectional scholars with the experience and expertise to address the pedagogical dilemmas that often arise in teaching social justice. Many of the issues discussed arise from the authors' own experiences as teachers in the current social climate; however, they also are verified by research on quality teaching in general and teaching about diversity specifically."
The New Jim Crow: Mass incarceration in the age of colorblindness by Michelle Alexander; Introduction by Cornel West
ISBN: 9781595586438
Publication Date: 2012
A Diversity and Inclusion Council recommended book.
"In a bold and innovative argument, a rising legal star shows readers how the mass incarceration of a disproportionate number of Black men amounts to a devastating system of racial control. This is a terrifying reality that exists in the UK as much as in the US. Despite the triumphant dismantling of the Jim Crow laws, the system that once forced African-Americans into a segregated second-class citizenship still haunts and the criminal justice system still unfairly targets Black men and deprives an entire segment of the population of their basic rights."
Promoting diversity and social justice: Educating people from privileged groups by Diane J. Goodman
ISBN: 9780203829738
Publication Date: 2011
A Diversity and Inclusion Council recommended book.
"Promoting Diversity and Social Justice provides theories, perspectives, and strategies that are useful for working with adults from privileged groups—those who are in a more powerful position in any given type of oppression. The thoroughly revised edition of this accessible and practical guide offers tools that allow educators to be more reflective and intentional in their work—helping them to consider who they're working with, what they're doing, why they're doing it and how to educate more effectively. The theories and approaches discussed can be applied to a range of situations and audiences. This book is an excellent resource for professors, diversity trainers, teachers in classrooms and workshops, counselors, organizers, student affairs personnel, community educators, advocates, group facilitators, and any others involved with educating about diversity and equity."
Racecraft: The soul of inequality in American life by Barbara J. Fields; Karen E. Fields
ISBN: 9781844679942
Publication Date: 2012
"Most people assume racism grows from a perception of human difference: the fact of race gives rise to the practice of racism. Sociologist Karen E. Fields and historian Barbara J. Fields argue otherwise: the practice of racism produces the illusion of race, through what they call 'racecraft.' And this phenomenon is intimately entwined with other forms of inequality in American life. So pervasive are the devices of racecraft in American history, economic doctrine, politics, and everyday thinking that the presence of racecraft itself goes unnoticed. That the promised post-racial age has not dawned, the authors argue, reflects the failure of Americans to develop a legitimate language for thinking about and discussing inequality. That failure should worry everyone who cares about democratic institutions."
Talking about structural inequalities in everyday life: New politics of race in groups, organizations, and social systems by Ellen L. Short; Leo Wilton (Eds.)
ISBN: 9781681233840
Publication Date: 2016
"This book provides a comprehensive focus on systemic, societal, and organizational functioning in a variety of contexts in advancing the interdisciplinary fields of human development, psychology, counseling, social work, education, public health, multiculturalism/cultural studies, and organizational consultation. One of the most fundamental aspects of this book engages readers in the connection between theory and praxis that incorporates a critical analytic approach to learning and the practicality of knowledge. A critical emphasis examines how inequalities and power relations manifest in groups, organizations, communities, and social systems within societal contexts."
Unequal lives: Health and socioeconomic inequalities by Hilary Graham
ISBN: 9780335213696
Publication Date: 2007
"What is meant by health inequalities and socioeconomic inequalities? What evidence is there to support the link between socioeconomic status and health? Why do these links persist over time, between and within societies, and across people's lives? What part do policies play in the persistence of social and health inequalities? Unequal Lives provides an evidence-based introduction to social and health inequalities. It brings together research from social epidemiology, sociology and social policy to guide the reader to an understanding of why people's lives and people's health remain so unequal, even in rich societies where there is more than enough for all. The book introduces the non-specialist to key concepts like health inequalities and health inequities, social class and socioeconomic position, social determinants and life course, as well as to the key indicators of health and socioeconomic position."

Breakthrough communities: Sustainability and justice in the next American metropolis by M. Paloma Pavel (Editor)
Call Number: HT167 .B675 2009 (Lambert)
ISBN: 9780262512350
Publication Date: 2009
"Activists, analysts, and practitioners describe innovative strategies that promote healthy neighborhoods, fair housing, and accessible transportation throughout America's cities and suburbs. The emerging metropolitan regional-equity movement promotes innovative policies to ensure that all communities in a metropolitan region share resources and opportunities equally. Too often, low-income communities and communities of color bear a disproportionate burden of pollution and lack access to basic infrastructure and job opportunities. The metropolitan regional-equity movement—sometimes referred to as a new civil rights movement—works for solutions to these problems that take into account entire metropolitan regions: the inner-city core, the suburbs, and exurban areas. This book describes current efforts to create sustainable communities with attention to the 'triple bottom line'—economy, environment, and equity—and argues that these three interests are mutually reinforcing."
Equals by Adam Phillips
Call Number: BF172 .P55 2002 (Lambert)
ISBN: 0465056792
Publication Date: 2002
"If the best thing we do is look after each other, then the worst thing we do is pretend to look after each other when in fact we are doing something else. Psychoanalysis teaches us the dangers of this paradox—and, in doing so, gives us fair warning about the perils of all social endeavors. In one way, the talking cure can be seen as a kind of listening cure. And learning to listen and be listened to is a skill upon which democracy itself depends. Written in his beloved epigrammatic and aphoristic style, Equals extends Phillips's essayistic probings into the psychological and the political, bringing his trenchant wit to such subjects as the usefulness of inhibitions and the paradox of permissive authority. He explores why citizens in a democracy are so eager to establish levels of hierarchy when the system is based on the assumption that every man is created equal. And he ponders the importance of mockery in group behavior and the psyche's struggle as a metaphor for political conflict."
How children and adolescents evaluate gender and racial exclusion by Melanie Killen; Jennie Lee-Kim; Heidi McGlothlin; Charles Stangor (Eds.)
Call Number: LC212.2.H68 2002x (Lambert)
ISBN: 9781405112352
Publication Date: 2003
"Exclusion from social groups is a source of conflict, stress, and tension in social life around the globe. How do children and adolescents evaluate exclusion based on group membership? This monograph is the report of an investigation of social exclusion in the contexts of friendship, peer groups, and school. Guided by social-cognitive domain theory, social psychological, and developmental theories on intergroup relationships, children and adolescents from four different ethnic groups were interviewed. The findings revealed that gender exclusion was more readily condoned than racial exclusion, and that exclusion in the friendship and peer group contexts were judged to be more legitimate than exclusion in the school context. There were also significant differences depending on the gender, age, and ethnicity of the participants. The results support the proposal that exclusion is multifaceted, involving a range of social and moral considerations."
Test interpretation and diversity: Achieving equity in assessment by Jonathan H. Sandoval; Craig L. Frisby; Kurt F. Geisinger; Julia Ramos-Grenier; Janice Dowd Scheuneman (Eds.)
Call Number: LB3060.8.T47 1998 (Lambert)
ISBN: 9781557985095
Publication Date: 1998
"Designed to help test interpreters learn to read test scores fairly, this book examines key psychometric ideas and judgment processes and offers guidance about the effects of language, acculturation, poverty, disability, and other factors on test scores. This volume is a resource for psychologists, government employees, educators, and lawyers who are concerned about the fair testing of diverse populations."
Also available via APA PsycBooks.
Uprooting racism: How White people can work for racial justice by Paul Kivel
Call Number: E184.A1K477 1995 (Lambert and Ladera)
ISBN: 0865713383
Publication Date: 1998
"Uprooting Racism offers a framework around neoliberalism and interpersonal, institutional, and cultural racism, along with stories of resistance and white solidarity. It provides practical tools and advice on how white people can work as allies for racial justice, engaging the reader through questions, exercises, and suggestions for action, and includes a wealth of information about specific cultural groups such as Muslims, people with mixed heritage, Native Americans, Jews, recent immigrants, Asian Americans, and Latino/as. Inequalities in education, housing, health care, and the job market continue to prevail, while increased insecurity and fear have led to an epidemic of scapegoating and harassment of people of color. Yet, recent polls show that only thirty-one percent of white people in the United States believe racism is a major societal problem; at the same time, resistance is strong, as highlighted by indigenous struggles for land and sovereignty and the Movement for Black Lives."

Handbook of social justice in education by David Stovall, William Ayers & Therese M. Quinn (Eds.)
ISBN: 9780805859287
Publication Date: 2008
"The Handbook of Social Justice in Education, a comprehensive and up-to-date review of the field, addresses, from multiple perspectives, education theory, research, and practice in historical and ideological context, with an emphasis on social movements for justice. Each of the nine sections explores a primary theme of social justice and education:
Timely and essential, this is a must-have volume for researchers, professionals, and students across the fields of educational foundations, multicultural/diversity education, educational policy, and curriculum and instruction."
Teaching for diversity and social justice: A sourcebook by Maurianne Adams, Pat Griffin & Lee Anne Bell (Eds.)
Call Number: LC196.5.U6 T43 1997 (Lambert)
ISBN: 0415910579
Publication Date: 1997
"For nearly a decade, Teaching for Diversity and Social Justice has been the definitive sourcebook of theoretical foundations and curricular frameworks for social justice teaching practice. This thoroughly revised second edition continues to provide teachers and facilitators with an accessible pedagogical approach to issues of oppression in classrooms. Building on the groundswell of interest in social justice education, the second edition offers coverage of current issues and controversies while preserving the hands-on format and inclusive content of the original. Teaching for Diversity and Social Justice presents a well-constructed foundation for engaging the complex and often daunting problems of discrimination and inequality in American society."

Indiana Journal of Law and Social Equality

EBSCO Open Access Journals: 2013 - present.
"The Indiana Journal of Law and Social Equality serves as an interdisciplinary academic forum for scholars, practitioners, policymakers, and students to contribute to society’s understanding of legal and policy issues concerning social justice and equality. IJLSE aims to become a major outlet for leading scholars and practitioners to improve race and gender relations, foster new research in and across the disciplines, and provide the intellectual foundation for the pursuit of social justice."

International Journal for Equity in Health

EBSCO Open Access Journals: 2002 - present.
"International Journal for Equity in Health presents evidence relevant to the search for, and attainment of, equity in health across and within countries. International Journal for Equity in Health publishes research which improves the understanding of issues that influence the distribution of health and healthcare within populations. This includes the discussion of political, policy-related, economic, social and health systems- and services-related influences, particularly with regard to identifying and understanding the systematic differences or the lived experiences of one or more aspects of health in population groups defined demographically, geographically, or socially. "

Beaton, A. M., & Tougas, F. (2001). Reactions to Affirmative Action: Group membership and social justice. Social Justice Research, 14(1), 61–78. https://doi.org/10.1023/A:1012575724550

Crosby, F. J., & Franco, J. L. (2003). Connections Between the Ivory Tower and the Multicolored World: Linking Abstract Theories of Social Justice to the Rough and Tumble of Affirmative Action. Personality and Social Psychology Review, 7(4), 362–373. https://doi.org/10.1207/S15327957PSPR0704_08

Jones, T. M., Diaz, A., Bruick, S., McCowan, K., Wong, D. W., Chatterji, A., Malorni, A., & Spencer, M. S. (2021). Experiences and perceptions of school staff regarding the COVID-19 pandemic and racial equity: The role of colorblindness. School Psychology, 36(6), 546–554. https://doi.org/10.1037/spq0000464

Kelly, J. F. (2022). Building a more equitable society: Psychology’s role in achieving health equity. American Psychologist, 77(5), 633–645. https://doi.org/10.1037/amp0001019

Lowery, B. S., Chow, R. M., Knowles, E. D., & Unzueta, M. M. (2012). Paying for positive group esteem: How inequity frames affect whites’ responses to redistributive policies. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 102(2), 323–336. https://doi.org/10.1037/a0024598

Marchiondo, L. A., Verney, S. P., & Venner, K. L. (2023). Academic leaders’ diversity attitudes: Their role in predicting faculty support for institutional diversity. Journal of Diversity in Higher Education, 16(3), 323–332. https://doi.org/10.1037/dhe0000333

Parker, C. P., Baltes, B. B., & Christiansen, N. D. (1997). Support for affirmative action, justice perceptions, and work attitudes: A study of gender and racial–ethnic group differences. Journal of Applied Psychology, 82(3), 376–389. https://doi.org/10.1037/0021-9010.82.3.376

Sarr, F., Knight, S., Strauss, D., Ouimet, A. J., Cénat, J. M., Williams, M. T., & Shaughnessy, K. (2022). Increasing the representation of Black, Indigenous, and People of Colour as students in psychology doctoral programmes. Canadian Psychology / Psychologie Canadienne, 63(4), 479–499. https://doi.org/10.1037/cap0000339

Tang Yan, C., Bachour, A., Pérez, C. J., Ansaldo, L. P., Santiago, D., Jin, Y., Li, Z., Mok, Y. S., Weng, Y., & Martinez, L. S. (2022). Partnering with immigrant families to promote language justice and equity in education. American Journal of Community Psychology, 70(3–4), 433–457. https://doi.org/10.1002/ajcp.12604

Walker, L. A., Williams, A., Triche, J., Rainey, L., Evans, M., Calabrese, R., & Martin, N. (2022). #StayMadAbby: Reframing affirmative action discourse and White entitlement on Black Twitter. Journal of Diversity in Higher Education, 15(6), 716–730. https://doi.org/10.1037/dhe0000275

Watson, E. R., & Collins, C. R. (2023). Putting the system in systemic racism: A systems thinking approach to advancing equity. American Journal of Community Psychology, 71(3–4), 274–286.

Intersectionality Studies

Black feminism reimagined: After intersectionality by Jennifer C. Nash
ISBN: 1478000430
Publication Date: 2019
"In Black Feminism Reimagined, Jennifer C. Nash reframes black feminism's engagement with intersectionality, often celebrated as its primary intellectual and political contribution to feminist theory. Charting the institutional history and contemporary uses of intersectionality in the academy, Nash outlines how women's studies has both elevated intersectionality to the discipline's primary program—building initiative and cast intersectionality as a threat to feminism's coherence. As intersectionality has become a central feminist preoccupation, Nash argues that black feminism has been marked by a single affect—defensiveness—manifested by efforts to police intersectionality's usages and circulations. Nash contends that only by letting go of this deeply alluring protectionist stance, the desire to make property of knowledge, can black feminists reimagine intellectual production in ways that unleash black feminist theory's visionary world-making possibilities."
The existence of the mixed race damnés: Decolonialism, class, gender, race by Daphne V. Taylor-Garcia
ISBN: 9781786606150
Publication Date: 2018
"The Existence of the Mixed Race Damnés is an interdisciplinary and intersectional study of the mixed-race subject in the Americas and the rise of oppositional consciousness with a consideration of not only race, but also colonialism. Daphne V. Taylor-Garcia examines the construction of race, gender, and class in coming to an oppositional consciousness as a Spanish colonial subject in the Americas. Spanning the early foundations of knowledge production about colonial/racial subjects and connecting to contemporary debates on Latinxs and racialization, the book takes up the terms through which first-person perceptions of precarity and class, mixed-race existence, and gendered power relations are constructed. The Existence of the Mixed Race Damnés ends with a response to the current skepticism towards organizing as people of color through a decolonial redefinition of the damn s that centers a critique of anti-black racism and colonial relations."
Feminist, queer, crip by Alison Kafer
ISBN: 9780253009418
Publication Date: 2013
"In Feminist, Queer, Crip Alison Kafer imagines a different future for disability and disabled bodies. Challenging the ways in which ideas about the future and time have been deployed in the service of compulsory able-bodiedness and able-mindedness, Kafer rejects the idea of disability as a pre-determined limit. She juxtaposes theories, movements, and identities such as environmental justice, reproductive justice, cyborg theory, transgender politics, and disability that are typically discussed in isolation and envisions new possibilities for crip futures and feminist/queer/crip alliances."
The intersectional approach : Transforming the academy through race, class, and gender by Michele Tracy Berger (Editor); Kathleen Guidroz (Editor)
ISBN: 9780807833346
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
"Intersectionality, or the consideration of race, class, and gender, is one of the prominent contemporary theoretical contributions made by scholars in the field of women's studies that now broadly extends across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Taking stock of this transformative paradigm, The Intersectional Approach guides new and established researchers to engage in a critical reflection about the broad adoption of intersectionality that constitutes what the editors call a new 'social literacy' for scholars. In eighteen essays, contributors examine various topics of interest to students and researchers from a feminist perspective as well as through their respective disciplines, looking specifically at gender inequalities related to globalization, health, motherhood, sexuality, body image, and aging. Together, these essays provide a critical overview of the paradigm, highlight new theoretical and methodological advances, and make a strong case for the continued use of the intersectional approach both within the borders of women's and gender studies and beyond."
Intersectionality and relational psychoanalysis: New perspectives on race, gender, and sexuality by Max Belkin; Cleonie White (Eds.)
ISBN: 9780367361716
Publication Date: 2020
"Intersectionality and Relational Psychoanalysis: New Perspectives on Race, Gender, and Sexuality examines the links between race, gender, and sexuality through the dual perspectives of relational psychoanalysis and the theory of intersectionality. This anthology discusses the ways in which clinicians and patients inadvertently reproduce experiences of privilege and marginalization in the consulting room. Focusing particularly on the experiences of immigrants, women of color, sex workers, and LGBTQ individuals, the contributing authors explore how similarities and differences between the patient's and analyst's gender, race, and sexual orientation can be acknowledged, challenged, and negotiated."
Psychology and economic injustice: Personal, professional, and political intersections by Bernice E. Lott; Heather E. Bullock
ISBN: 1591474299
Publication Date: 2006
"Psychology and Economic Injustice: Personal, Professional, and Political Intersections, which is part of a series on critical social issues addressed by psychologists empirically, politically, and in clinical practice, blends the personal experiences of feminist psychologists with empirical data. It argues persuasively for examining the relationship between economic disparity and gender and for the need to propose and support policies to ensure positive social change. Authors Bernice Lott and Heather E. Bullock present narratives of their experiences as psychologists who grew up in working-class and low-income families. Drawing from diverse sources, they present data on social class and poverty and tie these to social psychology and feminist perspectives."
Queer brown voices: Personal narratives of Latina/o LGBT activism by Uriel Quesada; Letitia Gomez; Salvador Vidal-Ortiz (Eds.)
ISBN: 1477302344
Publication Date: 2015
"In the last three decades of the twentieth century, LGBT Latinas/os faced several forms of discrimination. The greater Latino community did not often accept sexual minorities, and the mainstream LGBT movement expected everyone, regardless of their ethnic and racial background, to adhere to a specific set of priorities so as to accommodate a 'unified' agenda. Comprising essays and oral history interviews that present the experiences of fourteen activists across the United States and in Puerto Rico, this book offers a new perspective on the history of LGBT mobilization and activism. The activists discuss subjects that shed light not only on the organizations they helped to create and operate, but also on their broad-ranging experiences of being racialized and discriminated against, fighting for access to health care during the HIV/AIDS epidemic, and struggling for awareness."
A Two-Spirit journey: The autobiography of a lesbian Ojibwa-Cree elder by Ma-Nee Chacaby; Mary Louisa Plummer (As told to)
ISBN: 9780887558122
Publication Date: 2016
"A compelling, harrowing, but ultimately uplifting story of resilience and self-discovery, "A Two-Spirit Journey" is Ma-Nee Chacaby's extraordinary account of her life as an Ojibwa-Cree lesbian. From her early, often harrowing memories of life and abuse in a remote Ojibwa community riven by poverty and alcoholism, Chacaby's story is one of enduring and ultimately overcoming the social, economic, and health legacies of colonialism. Ma-Nee Chacaby has emerged from hardship grounded in faith, compassion, humour, and resilience. Her memoir provides unprecedented insights into the challenges still faced by many Indigenous people."
Understanding inequality: The intersection of race/ethnicity, class, and gender by Barbara A. Arrighi (Ed.)
ISBN: 9780742546790
Publication Date: 2007
"As the age of globalization and New Media unite disparate groups of people in new ways, the continual transformation and interconnections between ethnicity, class, and gender become increasingly complex. This reader, comprised of a diverse array of sources ranging from the New York Times to the journals of leading research universities, explores these issues as systems of stratification that work to reinforce one another. Understanding Inequality provides students and academics with the basic hermeneutics for considering new thought on ethnicity, class, and gender in the 21st century."

Black women, writing, and identity: Migrations of the subject by Carole Boyce-Davies
Call Number: PS153.N5D32 1994 (Ladera)
ISBN: 9780415100878
Publication Date: 1994
"Black Women Writing and Identity is an exciting work by one of the most imaginative and acute writers around. The book explores a complex and fascinating set of interrelated issues, establishing the significance of such wide-ranging subjects as: re-mapping, re-naming and cultural crossings; tourist ideologies and playful world traveling; gender, heritage and identity; African women's writing and resistance to domination; marginality, effacement and decentering; gender, language and the politics of location; Carole Boyce-Davies is at the forefront of attempts to broaden the discourse surrounding the representation of and by black women and women of color. Black Women Writing and Identity represents an extraordinary achievement in this field, taking our understanding of identity, location and representation to new levels."
Evolution's rainbow: Diversity, gender, and sexuality in nature and people by Joan Roughgarden
Call Number: QH541.15.B56R68 2004 (Ladera)
ISBN: 0520240731
Publication Date: 2004
"In this innovative celebration of diversity and affirmation of individuality in animals and humans, Joan Roughgarden challenges accepted wisdom about gender identity and sexual orientation. A distinguished evolutionary biologist, Roughgarden takes on the medical establishment, the Bible, social science—and even Darwin himself. She leads the reader through a fascinating discussion of diversity in gender and sexuality among fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals, including primates. Evolution's Rainbow explains how this diversity develops from the action of genes and hormones and how people come to differ from each other in all aspects of body and behavior. Roughgarden reconstructs primary science in light of feminist, gay, and transgender criticism and redefines our understanding of sex, gender, and sexuality. Witty, playful, and daring, this book will revolutionize our understanding of sexuality."
Intersectionality by Patricia Hill Collins; Sirma Bilge
Call Number: HM488.5 .H55 2020 (Ladera)
ISBN: 9781509539673
Publication Date: 2020
A Diversity and Inclusion Council recommended book.
"The concept of intersectionality has become a central topic in academic and activist circles alike. But what exactly does it mean, and why has it emerged as such a vital lens through which to explore how social inequalities of race, class, gender, sexuality, age, ability, and ethnicity shape one another? In this fully revised and expanded second edition of their popular text, Patricia Hill Collins and Sirma Bilge provide a much-needed introduction to the field of intersectional knowledge and praxis. Analyzing the emergence, growth, and contours of the concept of intersectionality, the authors also consider its global reach through an array of new topics such as the rise of far-right populism, reproductive justice, climate change, and digital environments and cultures. Accessibly written and drawing on a plethora of lively examples to illustrate its arguments, the book highlights intersectionality's potential for understanding complex architecture of social and economic inequalities and bringing about social justice-oriented change."
Reclaiming Two-Spirits: Sexuality, spiritual renewal, & sovereignty in Native America by Gregory D. Smithers; Raven E. Heavy Runner (Foreword by)
Call Number: E98.S48 S65 2022 (Lambert)
ISBN: 9780807003466
Publication Date: 2022
"Before 1492, hundreds of Indigenous communities across North America included people who identified as neither male nor female, but both. They went by aakíí'skassi, miati, okitcitakwe or one of hundreds of other tribally specific identities. After European colonizers invaded Indian Country, centuries of violence and systematic persecution followed, imperiling the existence of people who today call themselves Two-Spirits, an umbrella term denoting feminine and masculine qualities in one person. Drawing on written sources, archaeological evidence, art, and oral storytelling, Reclaiming Two-Spirits spans the centuries from Spanish invasion to the present, tracing massacres and inquisitions and revealing how the authors of colonialism's written archives used language to both denigrate and erase Two-Spirit people from history."
Crip theory: Cultural signs of queerness and disability by Robert McRuer; Michael Bérubé (Foreword by); Michael Bérubé (Foreword by)
Call Number: HV1568 .M37 2006 (Lambert and Ladera)
ISBN: 9780814757123
Publication Date: 2006
"A bold and contemporary discourse of the intersection of disability studies and queer studies. Crip Theory attends to the contemporary cultures of disability and queerness that are coming out all over. Both disability studies and queer theory are centrally concerned with how bodies, pleasures, and identities are represented as 'normal' or as abject, but Crip Theory is the first book to analyze thoroughly the ways in which these interdisciplinary fields inform each other. Drawing on feminist theory, African American and Latino/a cultural theories, composition studies, film and television studies, and theories of globalization and counter-globalization, Robert McRuer articulates the central concerns of crip theory and considers how such a critical perspective might impact cultural and historical inquiry in the humanities."
Also available via Ebook Central

The Palgrave handbook of critical social psychology by Brendan Gough (Editor)
ISBN: 9781137510174
Publication Date: 2017
"This handbook is the first to bring together the latest theory and research on critical approaches to social psychological challenges. Edited by a leading authority in the field, this volume further establishes critical social psychology as a discipline of study, distinct from mainstream social psychology. The Handbook explains how critical approaches to social processes and phenomena are essential to fully understanding them, and covers the main research topics in basic and applied social psychology, including social cognition, identity and social relations, alongside overviews of the main theories and methodologies that underpin critical approaches. This volume features a range of leading authors working on key social psychological issues, and highlights a commitment to a social psychology which shuns psychologisation, reductionism and neutrality. It provides invaluable insight into many of the most pressing and distressing issues we face in modern society, including the migrant and refugee crises affecting Europe; the devaluing of black lives in the USA; and the poverty, ill-health, and poor mental well-being that has resulted from ever-increasing austerity efforts in the UK."

DiGeSt: Journal of Diversity and Gender Studies

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals: 2014 - present.
"DiGeSt is an open access, bi-annual, peer-reviewed interdisciplinary and international journal hosted by Ghent University. The journal aims to strengthen academic research at the intersection of Gender and Sexuality Studies on the one hand, and Diversity studies on the other, including discussions of ethnicity, race, migration, refugees, multiculturalism, religion or pluralism. It encourages research that focuses on contemporary issues and developments that shape superdiverse societies in all its possible tensions and challenges."

Bharat, B., Chenneville, T., Gabbidon, K., & Foust, C. (2021). Considerations for psychological research with and for people of color and oppressed intersecting identities in the United States. Translational Issues in Psychological Science, 7(4), 363–377. https://doi.org/10.1037/tps0000285

Brinkman, A. H., Rea-Sandin, G., Lund, E. M., Fitzpatrick, O. M., Gusman, M. S., & Boness, C. L. (2023). Shifting the discourse on disability: Moving to an inclusive, intersectional focus. American Journal of Orthopsychiatry, 93(1), 50–62. https://doi.org/10.1037/ort0000653.supp (Supplemental)

Butz, A. M., & Gaynor, T. S. (2022). Intersectionality and social welfare: Avoidance and unequal treatment among transgender women of color. Public Administration Review, 82(3), 433–445. https://doi.org/10.1111/puar.13468

Cheeks, M. E., & Yancey, G. B. (2022). Examining diversity climate through an intersectional lens. Psychology of Leaders and Leadership, 25(1), 12–33. https://doi.org/10.1037/mgr0000122

Day, J. K., Goldberg, A. E., Toomey, R. B., & Beemyn, G. (2022). Associations between trans-inclusive resources and feelings of inclusion in campus LGBTQ+ groups: Differences for trans students of color. Psychology of Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity.https://doi.org/10.1037/sgd0000616

Pender, K. N., Hope, E. C., & Riddick, K. N. (2019). Queering Black activism: Exploring the relationship between racial identity and Black activist orientation among BlackLGBTQ youth. Journal of Community Psychology, 47(3), 529–543. https://doi.org/10.1002/jcop.22136

Settles, I. H., Warner, L. R., Buchanan, N. T., & Jones, M. K. (2020). Understanding psychology’s resistance to intersectionality theory using a framework of epistemic exclusion and invisibility. Journal of Social Issues, 76(4), 796–813. https://doi.org/10.1111/josi.12403

Simon, J. D., Boyd, R., & Subica, A. M. (2022). Refocusing intersectionality in social work education: Creating a brave space to discuss oppression and privilege. Journal of Social Work Education, 58(1), 34–45. https://doi.org/10.1080/10437797.2021.1883492

Vue, R. (2021). From first to first: Black, Indigenous, and People of Color first-generation faculty and administrator narratives of intersectional marginality and mattering as communal praxis. Education Sciences, 11(12), 1–18. https://doi.org/10.3390/educsci11120773

Social Justice

Funds of knowledge and identity pedagogies for social justice: International perspectives and praxis from communities, classrooms, and curriculum by Moisès Esteban-Guitart (Ed.)
ISBN: 9781032437231
Publication Date: 2023
"This edited volume takes the US-derived concept and praxis of funds of knowledge and applies it globally to critically analyze current education in line with social justice, antiracism, and culturally sustaining pedagogies. Edited by one of the premier international voices for the funds of knowledge approach, and in particular funds of identity theory, chapters foreground first-hand, participatory, research-practice experiences with learners, schools, and local communities. These experiences demonstrate the positive, social-justice inspired pedagogical actions that result in, and reveal, powerful possibilities for a decolonialised, antiracist praxis that aims to eradicate deficit thinking in education. Further, the inclusion of voices that are typically 'othered' in the construction and distribution of academic knowledge make this a seminal volume in the field."
Heredity, family, and inequality: A critique of social sciences by Michael Beenstock
ISBN: 9780262301381
Publication Date: 2012
" Empirical literature in disciplines ranging from behavioral genetics to economics shows that in virtually every aspect of life the outcomes of children are correlated to a greater or lesser extent with the outcomes of their parents and their siblings. In Heredity, Family, and Inequality, the economist Michael Beenstock offers theoretical, statistical, and methodological tools for understanding these correlations. Beenstock presents a comprehensive survey of intergenerational and sibling correlations for a broad range of outcomes—including fertility and longevity, intelligence and education, income and consumption, and deviancy and religiosity. He then offers a critique of the sometimes conflicting explanations for these correlations proposed by social scientists from such disciplines as developmental psychology, sociology, and economics."
A Jungian inquiry into the American psyche: The violence of innocence by Ipek S. Burnett
ISBN: 9780429510212
Publication Date: 2019
"In A Jungian Inquiry into the American Psyche: The Violence of Innocence, Ipek Burnett's penetrating cultural criticism enriched with psychoanalytical and Jungian insight offers a timely interrogation of national consciousness in the United States. Through evocative storytelling, Burnett unpacks the images and myths that run deep in the American psyche—from that of the New World, the city upon a hill, to the Manifest Destiny, the melting pot, and the pursuit of happiness. Against this backdrop, she investigates the vicious cycles of innocence and violence that have dominated American history and continue to reinforce systematic oppression in America, evident in racial and economic inequality, xenophobia, materialism, and more. Burnett's thought-provoking analysis exposes the ways in which psychological defenses such as historical amnesia, projection, denial, and dissociation work on a collective level, helping America avoid a confrontation with these violent truths of its past and present circumstances, and its national character."
Political passions and Jungian psychology: Social and political activism in analysis by Stefano Carta & Emilija Kiehl (Eds.)
ISBN: 9781000332728
Publication Date: 2020
"In this book, a multidisciplinary and international selection of Jungian clinicians and academics discuss some of the most compelling issues in contemporary politics. Presented in five parts, each chapter offers an in-depth and timely discussion on themes including migration, climate change, walls and boundaries, future developments, and the psyche. Taken together, the book presents an account of current thinking in their psychotherapeutic community as well as the role of practitioners in working with the results of racism, forced relocation, colonialism, and ecological damage. Ultimately, this book encourages analysts, scholars, psychotherapists, sociologists, and students to actively engage in shaping current and future political, socio-economic, and cultural developments in this increasingly complex and challenging time."
The poverty of welfare: Helping others in civil society by Michael Tanner
ISBN: 9781933995731
Publication Date: 2003
"The 1996 Welfare Reform Act was the most significant changes in social welfare policy in nearly 30 years. The Poverty of Welfare examines the impact of that reform, looking at the context of welfare's history, and concludes that while welfare reform was a step in the right direction, we have a long way to go to fix the deeply troubled system. Tanner suggests that we should be working toward the total elimination of government welfare programs, substituting a renewed and invigorated program of private charity and economic opportunity."
Psychoanalysis, catastrophe and social action by Robin McCoy Brooks
ISBN: 9781000450989
Publication Date: 2021
"This fascinating volume uses psychoanalytic theory to explore how political subjectivity comes about within the context of global catastrophe, via the emergence of collective individuations through trans-subjectivity. Serving as a jumping-off point to address the structural linkage between collective catastrophe, subject, group, and political transformation, trans-subjectivity is the central tenet of the book, conceptualized as a psyche-social dynamic that initiates social transformation and which may be enhanced in the clinical setting. Each chapter investigates a distinct manifestation of trans-subjectivity in relation to various real-world events as they manifest clinically in the analytic couple and within group processes. The author builds her conceptual arguments through a psyche/social reading of Kristeva's theory of signifiance (sublimation), Lacan's 1945 essay on collective logic, Heidegger's secular reading of the apostle Paul's Christian revolution, and Žižek, Badiou and Jung's conception of the neighbor within a differentiated humanity." Winner of the IAJS Book Award 2023 for Best Applied Book.
Psychoanalysis in the barrios: Race, class, and the unconscious by Patricia Gherovici & Christopher Christian (Eds)
ISBN: 9780429793615
Publication Date: 2018
A Diversity and Inclusion Council recommended book.
"Psychoanalysis in the Barrios: Race, Class, and the Unconscious demonstrates that psychoanalytic principles can be applied successfully in disenfranchised Latino populations, refuting the misguided idea that psychoanalysis is an expensive luxury only for the wealthy. As opposed to most Latin American countries, where psychoanalysis is seen as a practice tied to the promotion of social justice, in the United States psychoanalysis has been viewed as reserved for the well-to-do, assuming that poor people lack the 'sophistication' that psychoanalysis requires, thus heeding invisible but no less rigid class boundaries. Challenging such discrimination, the authors testify to the efficacy of psychoanalysis in the barrios, upending the unfounded widespread belief that poor people are so consumed with the pressures of everyday survival that they only benefit from symptom-focused interventions. Sharing vivid vignettes of psychoanalytic treatments, this collection sheds light on the psychological complexities of life in the barrio that is often marked by poverty, migration, marginalization, and barriers of language, class, and race."
A psychoanalytical-historical perspective on capitalism and politics by Mino Vianello
ISBN: 9781003020592
Publication Date: 2020
"A Psychoanalytical-Historical Perspective on Capitalism and Politics explores how empathy once shaped the collective unconscious, before being replaced by rampant individualistic drive to power. Mino Vianello uses "radical federalism" to define a new approach to democracy, hoping for an end to the repetition of outdated political and economic ideals to solve the world's democratic crisis. The book brings together a multitude of disciplines and perspectives, including Marxism, history, class, feminism, politics and empathy, to provide a comprehensive and honest history of power from the Enlightenment to the present day. This interdisciplinary study will be key reading for academics and scholars of Jungian studies, politics, sociology, history and economics."
Race, poverty, and domestic policy (The Institution for Social and Policy Studies) by C. Michael Henry (Editor)
ISBN: 9780300095418
Publication Date: 2004
"What explains the continuing hardship of so many black Americans? A distinguished group of scholars analyses the long, complex structural and environmental causes of discrimination and their effects on African-Americans. The authors examine the impact of poverty, poor health, poor schools, poor housing, poor neighbourhoods, and few job opportunities, and demonstrate how multiple causes reinforce each other and condemn African-Americans to positions of inferiority and poverty. Some of the contributors examine policies designed to correct problems, while others look at the changing racial and ethnic composition in America and its implications for African-Americans, as other minorities surpass them in numbers and claim political, economic, and social attention. With an introduction by James Tobin."
The racial healing handbook: Practical activities to help you challenge privilege, confront systemic racism & engage in collective healing by Anneliese A. Singh
ISBN: 9781684032723
Publication Date: 2019
"Healing from racism is a journey that often involves reliving trauma and experiencing feelings of shame, guilt, and anxiety. This journey can be a bumpy ride, and before we begin healing, we need to gain an understanding of the role history plays in racial/ethnic myths and stereotypes. In so many ways, to heal from racism, you must re-educate yourself and unlearn the processes of racism. This book can help guide you. The Racial Healing Handbook offers practical tools to help you navigate daily and past experiences of racism, challenge internalized negative messages and privileges, and handle feelings of stress and shame. You'll also learn to develop a profound racial consciousness and conscientiousness, and heal from grief and trauma. Most importantly, you'll discover the building blocks to creating a community of healing in a world still filled with racial microaggressions and discrimination."
Racing to justice: Transforming our conceptions of self and other to build an inclusive society by John A. Powell
ISBN: 9780253006295
Publication Date: 2012
A Diversity and Inclusion Council recommended book.
"Renowned social justice advocate John A. Powell persuasively argues that we have not achieved a post-racial society and that there is much work to do to redeem the American promise of inclusive democracy. Culled from a decade of writing about social justice and spirituality, these meditations on race, identity, and social policy provide an outline for laying claim to our shared humanity and a way toward healing ourselves and securing our future. Racing to Justice challenges us to replace attitudes and institutions that promote and perpetuate social suffering with those that foster relationships and a way of being that transcends disconnection and separation."
Restorative justice, reconciliation, and peacebuilding by Jennifer J. Llewellyn & Daniel Philpott (Eds.)
ISBN: 9780199364862
Publication Date: 2014
"All over the world the practice of peacebuilding is beset with common dilemmas: peace versus justice, religious versus secular approaches, individual versus structural justice, reconciliation versus retribution, and the harmonization of the sheer multiplicity of practices involved in repairing past harms. The twin concepts of reconciliation and restorative justice, both involving the holistic restoration of right relationship, contain not only a compelling logic of justice but also great promise for resolving peacebuilding's tensions and for constructing and assessing its institutions and practices. This volume furthers this potential by developing not only the core content of these concepts but also their implications for accountability, forgiveness, reparations, traditional practices, human rights, and international law. It contains essays by leading scholars of restorative justice, international law, transitional justice, political philosophy and theology."
Roads to reconciliation: Conflict and dialogue in the twenty-first century by Karen M. Poremski; Amy Benson Brown
ISBN: 9780765613332
Publication Date: 2004
"Unlike other books on conflict resolution that focus on particular places and moments in history, this original work attempts to understand the process from many different perspectives and in many different contexts—from international political conflicts, to racial and religious struggles within one culture, to the internal conflicts of individuals struggling with the desire for revenge in the wake of 9/11. Designed as a starting point for meaningful dialogue on the elusive concept of reconciliation, the book includes views from Christians and Muslims, scholars and politicians, and draws on religion, psychology, cultural studies, education theory, history, and law."

Collaborative arts-based research for social justice by Victoria Foster
Call Number: RC489 .F67 2016 (Ladera)
ISBN: 9780415656931
Publication Date: 2016
"This book provides a thought-provoking guide to conducting collaborative arts-based research. Focusing on ways that social inquiry might be conducted with marginalised groups to promote social justice, the text offers chapters on: Telling 'alternative' stories through a variety of methods from crafts to digital film; Visual and metaphorical approaches to social research including photography, art and poetry; Performative methods that include drama, dance, music and performance art. Foster introduces relevant methodological debates, giving a context for understanding when arts-based research can be a fruitful approach to take and outlining a convincing rationale for using the arts as a way of understanding and representing the social world. The book also suggests a range of alternative criteria for evaluating the quality of arts-based research."
Community psychology: In pursuit of liberation and well-being by Geoffrey Nelson; Isaac Prilleltensky (Editor)
Call Number: RA790.55 .C65 2010 (Ladera)
ISBN: 9780230219953
Publication Date: 2010
"In its broadest sense, community psychology studies the individual's relationships to their community and to wider society. Sitting at the junction between social and clinical psychology, and heavily influenced by activist traditions in political science, sociology and social work, this powerfully written book delivers a comprehensive introduction to the definition and aims of this justice-orientated field of psychology. Editors Nelson and Prilleltensky cover a broad range of the critical perspectives and fundamental values that define the aims of community psychology, highlighting the psychosocial praxis that these have produced and the key political and societal ills that they aim to prevent. Written with a global perspective, this book exhibits internationally authored chapters as well as in-text commentators and cross-cultural case studies. This book is a key guide to understanding how community psychologists function to resolve structural injustice and bring about transformative change to the socio-economic issues of our time such as homelessness, mental health, racism, discrimination and marginalisation."
Consciousness-in-action: Toward an integral psychology of liberation & transformation by Raul Quinones Rosado
Call Number: B808.9 .Q856 2007 (Ladera)
ISBN: 9780615145075
Publication Date: 2010
A Diversity and Inclusion Council recommended book.
"Drawing from psychology, sociology, social theory, integral theory, and years of work in communities-of-struggle, this book proposes a unique approach to personal change and social transformation. With implications for helping professionals, educators, community organizers, activists and others committed to social change, Consciousness-in-Action offers an integral view of well-being and development in the context of institutional and internalized oppression. Consciousness-in-action as a personal and group process is presented as a practice to liberate people from emotional and behavioral reactivity of learned superiority and inferiority based on race, gender, culture, class and other social identities, a process central to social transformation and the evolution of human consciousness."
Critical literacy as resistance: Teaching for social justice across the secondary curriculum by Laraine Wallowitz (Editor)
Call Number: LC196.5.U6C75 2008 (Ladera)
ISBN: 9781433100635
Publication Date: 2008
"Critical Literacy as Resistance is a collaborate effort among secondary and university educators from across the United States. This book documents the experiences of scholars and teachers who have successfully bridged theory and practice by applying critical literacy into their respective content areas. The authors spell out the difference between critical thinking and critical literacy, then show how to write and implement curriculum that incorporates diverse texts and multiple literacies in all content areas (including world language), and includes the voices of students as they confront issues of race, class, gender, and power. The principles and practices laid out here will help teachers use literacy to liberate and empower students both in and outside the classroom by respecting and studying the literacies students bring to school, while simultaneously teaching (and challenging) the literacies of those in power. This is a book for pre- and in-service teachers in all content areas, staff developers, secondary literacy specialists, university professors, and anyone interested in social justice."
Embodied activism: Engaging the body to cultivate liberation, justice, and authentic connection by Rae Johnson; Bayo Akomolafe (Foreword by)
Call Number: BF637 .J649 2023 (Lambert)
ISBN: 9781623176990
Publication Date: 2023
"Instead of thinking about social justice as a process that starts with changing people's minds, Embodied Activism understands our bodies—how we feel in them and relate to others through them—as the sites of transformation. How do ordinary people with busy lives leverage our actions in support of liberation, justice, and authentic connection? How can activists and social change-makers avoid burning out? How does the body factor into what our social movements miss? Drawing on the somatic arts, trauma-informed psychology, and anti-oppressive movements, Embodied Activism helps us explore and transform the political realities of our everyday lives in a new way— by harnessing the felt experience of our bodies as the sites of our activism. Rae Johnson teaches us to listen to our body language—and to question body image norms."
Embodied social justice by Rae Johnson
Call Number: BF637.N66 J65 2018 (Lambert and Ladera)
ISBN: 9781138217706
Publication Date: 2017
"Embodied social justice introduces a body-centered approach to working with oppression, designed for social workers, counselors, educators, and other human service professionals. Grounded in current research, this integrative approach to social justice works directly with the implicit knowledge of our bodies to address imbalances in social power. Consisting of a conceptual framework, case examples, and a model of practice, Embodied social justice integrates key findings from education, psychology, traumatology, and somatic studies while addressing critical gaps in how these fields have understood and responded to everyday issues of social justice."
Uprooted Minds: Surviving the politics of terror in the Americas by Nancy Caro Hollander
Call Number: HV6433.A45 H65 2010 (Ladera)
ISBN: 9780881634907
Publication Date: 2010-07-01
A Diversity and Inclusion Council recommended book.
"In our post-9/11 environment, our sense of relative security and stability as privileged subjects living in the heart of Empire has been profoundly shaken. Hollander explores the forces that have brought us to this critical juncture, analyzing the role played by the neoliberal economic paradigm and conservative political agenda that emerged in the West over the past four decades with devastating consequences for the hemisphere's citizens. Narrative testimonies of progressive U.S. and Latin American psychoanalysts illuminate the psychological meanings of living under authoritarian political conditions and show how a psychoanalysis 'beyond the couch' contributes to social struggles on behalf of human rights and redistributive justice. By interrogating themes related to the mutual effects of social power and ideology, large group dynamics and unconscious fantasies, affects and defenses, Hollander encourages reflections about our experience as social/psychological subjects."
Also available via Ebook Central.

Diversity in mind and in action, Vol. 3: Social, psychological, and political challenges by Jean Lau Chin (Ed.)
ISBN: 9780313347139
Publication Date: 2009
"Diversity is a social justice issue. It is about power and oppression associated with racism, classism, and social privilege. We are faced with social, political, and psychological challenges as we seek strategies and solutions to create social institutions that honor diversity, and are the training grounds for diverse citizens living together with different perspectives, origins, and persuasions. It is about social change and advocacy. Diversity is about contemporary society consisting of people living and working together amidst political, economic, psychological, and social contexts drawing on historical perspectives."
Encyclopedia of activism and social justice (Three volumes) by Gary Anderson & Kathryn G. Herr (Eds.)
ISBN: 9781412918121
Publication Date: 2007
"The Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice presents a comprehensive overview of the field with topics of varying dimensions, breadth, and length. This three-volume Encyclopedia is designed for readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism."
Encyclopedia of diversity and social justice by Sherwood Thompson
ISBN: 9781442216068
Publication Date: 2014
"The Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice contains over 300 entries alphabetically arranged for straightforward and convenient use by scholars and general readers alike. This reference is a comprehensive and systematic collection of designated entries that describe, in detail, important diversity and social justice themes. Thompson, assisted by a network of contributors and consultants, provides a centralized source and convenient way to discover the modern meaning, richness, and significance of diversity and social justice language, while offering a balanced viewpoint. This book reveals the unique nature of the language of diversity and social justice and makes the connection between how this language influences--negatively and positively--institutions and society."
The Oxford handbook of social psychology and social justice by Phillip L. Hammack
ISBN: 9780199938735
Publication Date: 2018
"The twentieth century witnessed not only the devastation of war, conflict, and injustice on a massive scale, but it also saw the emergence of social psychology as a discipline committed to addressing these and other social problems. In the 21st century, however, the promise of social psychology remains incomplete. We have witnessed the reprise of authoritarianism and the endurance of institutionalized forms of oppression such as sexism, racism, and heterosexism across the globe. Edited by Phillip L. Hammack, The Oxford Handbook of Social Psychology and Social Justice reorients social psychology toward the study of social injustice in real-world settings. The volume's contributing authors effectively span the borders between cultures and disciplines to better highlight new and emerging critical paradigms that interrogate the very real consequences of social injustice. United in their belief in the possibility of liberation from oppression, with this Handbook, Hammack and his contributors offer a stirring blueprint for a new, important kind of social psychology today."
The Palgrave handbook of critical social psychology by Brendan Gough (Editor)
ISBN: 9781137510174
Publication Date: 2017
"This handbook is the first to bring together the latest theory and research on critical approaches to social psychological challenges. Edited by a leading authority in the field, this volume further establishes critical social psychology as a discipline of study, distinct from mainstream social psychology. The Handbook explains how critical approaches to social processes and phenomena are essential to fully understanding them, and covers the main research topics in basic and applied social psychology, including social cognition, identity and social relations, alongside overviews of the main theories and methodologies that underpin critical approaches. This volume features a range of leading authors working on key social psychological issues, and highlights a commitment to a social psychology which shuns psychologisation, reductionism and neutrality. It provides invaluable insight into many of the most pressing and distressing issues we face in modern society, including the migrant and refugee crises affecting Europe; the devaluing of black lives in the USA; and the poverty, ill-health, and poor mental well-being that has resulted from ever-increasing austerity efforts in the UK."

Alternate Routes: A Journal of Critical Social Research

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): 1977 - present.
"Alternate Routes is committed to creating an outlet for critical social research and interdisciplinary inquiry. A broad range of theoretical and methodological approaches are encouraged, including works from academics, labour, and community researchers. Alternate Routes is a publicly accessible academic journal and encourages provocative works that advance or challenge our understandings of historical and contemporary socio-political, economic and cultural issues."

Studies in Social Justice

EBSCO Open Access Journals: 2007 - present.
"Studies in Social Justice publishes articles, dispatches and creative works relating to the social, cultural, economic, environmental, political, and philosophical problems associated with struggles for social justice. The journal aims to publish work that links theory to social change and the analysis of substantive issues. The journal welcomes heterodox contributions that are critical of established paradigms of inquiry. The journal focuses on debates that move beyond conventional notions of social justice, and views social justice as a critical concept that is integral in the analysis of policy formation, rights, participation, social movements, and transformations. Social justice is analysed in the context of processes involving nationalism, social and public policy, globalization, diasporas, culture, gender, ethnicity, sexuality, welfare, poverty, war, and other social phenomena. It endeavours to cover questions and debates ranging from governance to democracy, sustainable environments, and human rights, and to introduce new work on pressing issues of social justice throughout the world."

Curtis-Boles, H., Chupina, A. G., & Okubo, Y. (2020). Social justice challenges: Students of color and critical incidents in the graduate classroom. Training and Education in Professional Psychology, 14(2), 100–108. https://doi.org/10.1037/tep0000293

Dang, T. P., Mattan, B. D., Barth, D. M., Handley, G., Cloutier, J., & Kubota, J. T. (2022). Perceiving social injustice during arrests of Black and White civilians by White police officers: An fMRI investigation. NeuroImage, 255,1–14. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.neuroimage.2022.119153

Franklin, R., Younge, S., & Jensen, K. (2023). The role of historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs) in cultivating the next generation of social justice and public service‐oriented moral leaders during the racial reckoning and COVID‐19 pandemics. American Journal of Community Psychology, 71(1–2), 22–32. https://doi.org/10.1002/ajcp.12648

Gemignani, M., Pujol-Tarrés, J., & Gandarias-Goikoetxea, I. (2023). Social justice narrative research: From articulation to intra-action and ethico-onto-epistemology. Qualitative Psychology (4), 495–519. https://doi.org/10.1037/qup0000254

Jones, V. N., & McElderry, C. G. (2023).Social work and reparations: Applying a restorative justice approach. Journal of Ethnic & Cultural Diversity in Social Work: Innovation in Theory, Research & Practice, 32(2), 57–66. https://doi.org/10.1080/15313204.2021.1949774

Liu, T., Brown, E. M., Yeboah, M., Baraka, M., Chang, J., Fu, R., Fang, T., Huang, Y., Wong, S., & Jones, D. (2022). Counterstories of multiculturalism and social justice: Lived experience of Asian and Black faculty teaching multicultural classes. Training and Education in Professional Psychology. https://doi.org/10.1037/tep0000437.supp (Supplemental)

Miller, F. G. (2023). Assessment in action: Toward a more complete and justice-oriented understanding of the social consequences of educational measures. School Psychology, 38(3), 192–198. https://doi.org/10.1037/spq0000551

Morrison, T., Ferris Wayne, M., Harrison, T., Palmgren, E., & Knudson-Martin, C. (2022). Learning to embody a social justice perspective in couple and family therapy: A grounded theory analysis of MFTs in training. Contemporary Family Therapy: An International Journal, 44(4), 408–421. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10591-022-09635-8

Sayegh, P., Vivian, D., Heller, M. B., Kirk, S., & Kelly, K. (2023). Racial, cultural, and social injustice in psychological assessment: A brief review, call to action, and resources to help reduce inequities and harm. Training and Education in Professional Psychology. https://doi.org/10.1037/tep0000451.supp (Supplemental)

Sullivan, M., & Witenstein, M. A. (2022). Infusing restorative justice practices into college student conduct practices. Journal of Diversity in Higher Education, 15(6), 695–699. https://doi.org/10.1037/dhe0000445

Tawa, J., & Montoya, A. K. (2023). Racial embodiment in virtual environments for facilitating students’ understanding of racism. Technology, Mind, and Behavior, 4(1). https://doi.org/10.1037/tmb0000024

Thrift, E., & Sugarman, J. (2019). What is social justice? Implications for psychology. Journal of Theoretical and Philosophical Psychology, 39(1), 1–17. https://doi.org/10.1037/teo0000097

Yi, J., Neville, H. A., Todd, N. R., & Mekawi, Y. (2023). Ignoring race and denying racism: A meta-analysis of the associations between colorblind racial ideology, anti-Blackness, and other variables antithetical to racial justice. Journal of Counseling Psychology, 70(3), 258–275. https://doi.org/10.1037/cou0000618.supp (Supplemental)

Library Guide to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Cultural Competence and Awareness

Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology

Journal of Ethnic And Cultural Diversity in Social Work

Multicultural Perspectives

Related articles:

Equity and Inequity

Indiana Journal of Law and Social Equality

International Journal for Equity in Health

Related articles:

Intersectionality Studies

DiGeSt: Journal of Diversity and Gender Studies

Related articles:

Social Justice

Alternate Routes: A Journal of Critical Social Research

Studies in Social Justice

Related articles: