Graduate Research Library: Library Guide to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: Neurodiversity

Autism Spectrum Disorders

Autism and the edges of the known world: Sensitivities, language and constructed reality by Theo Peeters (Foreword by); Kazik Hubert (Afterword by); Olga Bogdashina
ISBN: 9781849050425
Publication Date: 2010
"In this intelligent and incisive book, Olga Bogdashina explores old and new theories of sensory perception and communication in autism. Drawing on linguistics, philosophy, neuroscience, psychology, anthropology and quantum mechanics, she looks at how the nature of the senses inform an individual's view of the world, and how language both reflects and constructs that view. Examining the 'whys' and 'hows' of the senses, and the role of language, Olga Bogdashina challenges common perceptions of what it means to be 'normal' and 'abnormal'. In doing so she shows that autism can help to illuminate our understanding of what it means to be human, and of how we develop faculties that shape our cognition, language, and behaviour."
Do you understand me?: My life, my thoughts, my autism spectrum disorder by Sofie Koborg Brøsen
ISBN: 9781846425424
Publication Date: 2006
"Sofie Koborg Brøsen is eleven years old and, like other children of her age, goes to a mainstream school, loves reading comics and being with her family and her cat, Teddy. But Sofie is not the same as everyone else—she has autism spectrum disorder. Fed up with being misunderstood by her classmates, she has written a book about her world so others can learn to understand her, and vice versa. Sofie describes her day-to-day life in clear, unambiguous language and tells readers about things she finds difficult: being given too many instructions, disruptions to her routine, being teased, strong lights and smells, and too much noise. She also tells about what she really likes—feeling accepted by other children, reading, nature, her autism camp and her cat. This fully illustrated book is a readable insider's view of life as a child with autism attending a mainstream school and will be an invaluable resource in helping other children to understand their classmates with autism spectrum disorders."
Our autistic lives: Personal accounts from autistic adults around the world aged 20 to 70+ by Alex Ratcliffe (Editor)
ISBN: 9781785925603
Publication Date: 2020
"This collection of narratives from autistic adults is structured around their decades of experience of life, covering 20s, 30s, 40s, 50s, 60 and 70s+. These are varied and diverse, spanning different continents, genders, sexualities and ethnicities, yet the author highlights the common themes that unite them and skillfully draws out these threads. Each chapter is based on accounts from one age group and includes accounts from people of that age, giving an insight into the history of autism and signifying how gaining a diagnosis (or not) has changed people's lives over time. The book is about ageing with an autistic mind, and helping the reader find connections between neurotypical and neurodiverse people by acknowledging the challenges we all face in our past, present and futures."
Parenting across the autism spectrum: Unexpected lessons we have learned by Maureen Morrell; Ann Palmer
ISBN: 9781846425066
Publication Date: 2006
"Maureen F. Morrell and Ann Palmer are raising two very different children: Justin, a whirlwind of activity and mood swings, who is supervised in a residential farm community, and Eric, quiet and passive, who lives independently at college. The authors give an account of the striking similarities as well as the stark differences in their experiences of parenting children at opposite extremes of the autism spectrum. They give a moving account of the challenges they faced and the surprising consolations they found along their sons' very different paths in life. Parenting across the autism spectrum offers a personal perspective and practical guidance for parents at the start of their journey with autism, especially those whose children are newly diagnosed. It also provides useful insights for professionals working with individuals across the autism spectrum and their families. The book was elected the 2007 Autism Society of America's Outstanding Literary Work of the Year."
Representing autism: Culture, narrative, fascination by Stuart Murray
ISBN: 9781846310928
Publication Date: 2008
"From concerns of an 'autism epidemic' to the MMR vaccine crisis, autism is a source of peculiar fascination in the contemporary media. Discussion of the condition has been largely framed within medicine, psychiatry and education but there has been no exploration of its power within representative narrative forms. Representing Autism is the first book to tackle this approach, using contemporary fiction and memoir writing, film, photography, drama and documentary together with older texts to set the contemporary fascination with autism in context. Representing Autism analyses and evaluates the place of autism within contemporary culture and at the same time examines the ideas of individual and community produced by people with autism themselves to establish the ideas of autistic presence that emerge from within a space of cognitive exceptionality."
Sensory: Life on the spectrum: An Autistic Comics Anthology by Bex Ollerton
ISBN: 9781524874766
Publication Date: 2022
"A colourful and eclectic comics anthology exploring a wide range of autistic experiences—from diagnosis journeys to finding community— from contributors with autism. From artist and curator Bex Ollerton comes an anthology featuring comics from thirty autistic creators about their experiences of living in a world that doesn't always understand or accept them. Sensory: Life on the Spectrum contains illustrated explorations of everything from life pre-diagnosis to tips on how to explain autism to someone who doesn't have it, to suggestions for how to soothe yourself when you're feeling overstimulated. With unique, vibrant comic-style illustrations and the emotional depth and vulnerability of memoir, this book depicts these varied experiences with the kind of insight that only those who have lived them can have."
Siblings and autism: Stories spanning generations and cultures by Bruce Mills; Debra Cumberland (Eds.)
ISBN: 9781849058315
Publication Date: 2010-12-15
"What is it like to grow up with a sibling on the autism spectrum? What kind of relationship do such siblings have? How does that relationship change as the siblings get older? In this moving collection of beautifully-written personal accounts, siblings from a variety of backgrounds, and in different circumstances, share their experiences of growing up with a brother or sister with autism. Siblings and Autism is a thought-provoking book that will appeal to anyone with a personal or professional interest in autism, including parents of siblings of children on the spectrum, teachers, counsellors, and psychologists.
A spectrum of light: Inspirational interviews with families affected by autism by Francesca Bierens
ISBN: 9781849050135
Publication Date: 2009
"Over a period of fourteen years, Francesca Bierens interviewed ten families of children on the autism spectrum. This book records their answers: how they felt, how they coped, and what gave them strength and solace. Each family discusses how they reacted when they found out their child had autism, and their feelings leading up to diagnosis. They share their positive and negative experiences of professionals, and describe the support that they received, often from grandparents, respite care givers, support groups and other parents. Two of the original children, now in their 20s, also talk about the experience of growing up with autism, and describe how their lives are now. Above all, Bierens' message, and that of the families she interviews, is one of inspiration and hope, showing that there is light, love and laughter along the way."
Spectrums: Autistic transgender people in their own words by Maxfield Sparrow (Editor)
ISBN: 9781787750142
Publication Date: 2020
"Written by autistic trans people from around the world, this vital and intimate collection of personal essays reveals the struggles and joys of living at the intersection of neurodivergence and gender diversity. Weaving memories, poems and first-person narratives together, these stories showcase experiences of coming out, college and university life, accessing healthcare, physical transition, friendships and relationships, sexuality, pregnancy, parenting, and late life self-discovery, to reveal a rich and varied tapestry of life lived on the spectrums. With humour and personal insight, this anthology is essential reading for autistic trans people, and the professionals supporting them, as well as anyone interested in the nuances of autism and gender identity."
We walk: Life with severe autism by Amy S. F. Lutz
ISBN: 9781501751394
Publication Date: 2020
"In this collection of beautiful and raw essays, Amy S. F. Lutz writes openly about her experience—the positive and the negative—as a mother of a now twenty-one-year-old son with severe autism. Lutz's human emotion drives through each page and challenges commonly held ideas that define autism either as a disease or as neurodiversity. We Walk is inspired by her own questions: What is the place of intellectually and developmentally disabled people in society? What responsibilities do we, as citizens and human beings, have to one another? Who should decide for those who cannot decide for themselves? What is the meaning of religion to someone with no abstract language? Exploring these questions, We Walk directly—and humanly—examines social issues such as inclusion, religion, therapeutics, and friendship through the lens of severe autism."

Animals in translation: Using the mysteries of autism to decode animal behavior by Temple Grandin; Catherine Johnson
Call Number: QL751 .G73 2005 (Lambert)
ISBN: 9780743247696
Publication Date: 2004
"Temple Grandin's Animals in Translation speaks in the clear voice of a woman who emerged from the other side of autism, bringing with her an extraordinary message about how animals think and feel. Temple's professional training as an animal scientist and her history as a person with autism have given her a perspective like that of no other expert in the field. Standing at the intersection of autism and animals, she offers unparalleled observations and groundbreaking ideas about both."
Autism: Explaining the enigma by Uta Frith
Call Number: RJ506.A9 F695 2003 (Lambert)
ISBN: 0631229000
Publication Date: 2003
"The updated edition of this classic account of autism includes a new chapter outlining recent developments in neuropsychological research and overviews one of the most important theoretical and practical consequences of Frith's original insights into this puzzling condition. Includes new sections covering practical and theoretical developments, and a chapter on recent investigations of the neurological basis of psychological impairments in autism. Accessible to a broad general readership."
Counselling people on the autism spectrum: A practical manual by Katherine Paxton; Irene Estay
Call Number: RC553.A88P39 2007 (Lambert)
ISBN: 9781843105527
Publication Date: 2007
"The characteristics of autism spectrum disorders (ASD) present unique challenges, not only to people themselves affected, but also to counseling professionals. This comprehensive book shows how to develop the tools necessary to help people on the spectrum cope with their emotions, anxieties, and confusion about the often overwhelming world that surrounds them. Illustrated with useful case studies, it covers a range situations where counseling may be helpful for individuals with ASD, both children and adults, families where a member is on the spectrum, and couples where a partner has ASD. It also addresses specific issues, including depression, anxiety, emotional regulation, social skills, and stress, with effective strategies for dealing with each issue."
Look me in the eye: My life with Asperger's by John Elder Robison
Call Number: RC553.A88 R635 2007 (Lambert)
ISBN: 0307395987
Publication Date: 2007
"Look Me in the Eye is the moving, darkly funny story of growing up with Asperger's at a time when the diagnosis simply didn't exist. A born storyteller, Robison takes readers inside the head of a boy who teachers and other adults regarded as defective. Its a strange, sly, indelible account; sometimes alien yet always deeply human."
Providing practical support for people with autism spectrum disorder: Supported living in the community by Denise Edwards; E. Veronica Bliss (Foreword by)
Call Number: RC553.A88E38 2008 (Lambert)
ISBN: 1843105772
Publication Date: 2008
"This book unravels some of the common misunderstandings between people with autism spectrum disorders (ASD) and providers of support services, and offers practical advice on how to ensure that the needs of people with ASD are catered for effectively. Denise Edwards writes directly from her own experiences of finding appropriate support for her adopted son, John Paul, who has Asperger's syndrome, but also draws on the experiences of a broad range of service users. She discusses common areas in which difficulties arise, including communication, social situations and the organization of information, examines the implications of support in wider society—education, employment, the legal system—and makes practical suggestions for changes that can improve access to benefits and services for people with ASD."
Also available via Ebook Central.
The unwritten rules of social relationships: Decoding social mysteries through the unique perspectives of autism by Temple Grandin; Sean Barron; Veronica Zysk (Editor)
Call Number: HM686.G73 2005 (Lambert)
ISBN: 9781932565065
Publication Date: 2004
"Temple Grandin and Sean Barron team up to produce one of the most complete guides to social relationships ever written. The authors' individual strengths and diverse life experiences allow them to tackle social challenges from very different standpoints."

Autism spectrum disorders: A reference handbook by Raphael Bernier; Jennifer Gerdts
ISBN: 9781598843354
Publication Date: 2010
"'Autism' describes a complex developmental disability that interferes with social interaction and communication. Symptoms of autism are generally recognizable when children are under the age of three. Until the 1990s, rates for autism were generally estimated at 1 in 2500. In 2010, however, the estimate is now 1 in 110 children. Is the incidence of autism increasing, or has there simply been a shift in how often this disability is diagnosed as the problem? This text provides a comprehensive explanation of autism spectrum disorders (ASD). Autism spectrum disorders: A reference handbook educates readers about ASD without relying on confusing medical jargon, highlighting current understanding of etiology, neuroscience, and intervention. It also discusses the historical and cultural influences of ASD and explores the controversial aspects of autism."
The Oasis guide to Asperger Syndrome by Patricia Romanowski Bashe; Barbara L. Kirby
Call Number: RC553.A88B375 2005 (Lambert)
ISBN: 1400081521
Publication Date: 2005
"As the mother of a boy diagnosed with AS in 1994, Barbara Kirby found scant resources and support. She developed the internationally renowned OASIS (Online Asperger Syndrome Information and Support) website in 1995 to help other parents find the information they need. She teamed up with Patricia Romanowski Bashe, now co-owner of OASIS and herself the mother of a son with AS, to write The OASIS Guide to Asperger Syndrome, which has become the standout authority in the field and a must-have for this growing audience. Now Bashe and Kirby have crafted a fully revised edition of this comprehensive resource for parents, teachers, therapists, and anyone who knows or works with someone with AS. In addition to discussing what AS looks like and how parents can guide their unique child through the social, emotional, and intellectual challenges of growing up, this edition includes new developments made in AS research over the past four years, new thinking on diagnosis and evaluation, the latest approaches to medication and social skills development, and tips on navigating the maze of interventions, therapies, and special education."
The Oxford handbook of Autism and co-occurring psychiatric conditions by Susan W. White; Brenna B. Maddox; Carla A. Mazefsky (Eds.)
ISBN: 9780190910761
Publication Date: 2020
"Co-occurring psychiatric conditions are extremely common among people who have autism spectrum disorder (ASD). The Oxford Handbook of Autism and Co-Occurring Psychiatric Conditions presents a compilation of the latest research in this area, summarized by internationally renowned experts. Given the fact that comorbidity is often a chronic and pervasive concern, this Handbook takes a lifespan approach, with each chapter touching on developmental aspects of the targeted problem, from early childhood through adulthood."

Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders

Ejournals (EBSCO): 1979 - present.
"The Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders covers all the severe psychopathologies in childhood, including autism and childhood schizophrenia. Original articles discuss experimental studies on the biochemical, neurological, and genetic aspects of a particular disorder; the implications of normal development for deviant processes; and interaction between disordered behavior of individuals and social or group factors. This journal also features research and case studies involving the entire spectrum of interventions (including behavioral, biological, educational, and community aspects) and advances in the diagnosis and classification of disorders."

Benveniste, D. (1983). The archetypal image of the mouth and its relation to autism. The Arts in Psychotherapy, 10(2), 99–112. https://doi.org/10.1016/0197-4556(83)90036-9

Bisagni, F. (2009). The sound-hand. Journal of Child Psychotherapy, 35(3), 229–249. https://doi.org/10.1080/00754170903233210

Błeszyński, J. J. (2021). Self-regard of individuals with autism—How people from the autism spectrum perceive autism: A netnographic research. Integrative Psychological & Behavioral Science, 55(3), 665–681. https://doi.org/10.1007/s12124-021-09601-3

Brownlow, C., Lawson, W., Pillay, Y., Mahony, J., & Abawi, D. (2021). “Just ask me”: The importance of respectful relationships within schools. Frontiers in Psychology, 12. https://doi.org/10.3389/fpsyg.2021.678264

de Araujo, C. A. (2022). Autism: An ‘epidemic’ of contemporary times? The Journal of Analytical Psychology, 67(1), 5–20. https://doi.org/10.1111/1468-5922.12746

Dergicz, R. A. (2019). Transformations in autism: Working psychotherapeutically with autistic states. Journal of Child Psychotherapy, 45(2), 148–161. https://doi.org/10.1080/0075417X.2019.1645197

Gonzalez Barajas, A., & Hung Ho, R. (2021). Unmapped realms: Representation of inner mythologies in the creative work of artists with autism. Epidemiology and Psychiatric Sciences, 30(E75). doi:10.1017/S2045796021000615

Jones, S. C., Gordon, C. S., Akram, M., Murphy, N., & Sharkie, F. (2022). Inclusion, exclusion and isolation of autistic people: Community attitudes and autistic people’s experiences. Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders, 52(3), 1131–1142. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10803-021-04998-7

MacIntyre, G. (2014). The potential for inclusion: Young people with learning disabilities experiences of social inclusion as they make the transition from childhood to adulthood. Journal of Youth Studies, 17(7), 857–871. https://doi.org/10.1080/13676261.2013.878794

Parchomiuk, M. (2019). Sexuality of persons with autistic spectrum disorders (ASD). Sexuality and Disability, 37(2), 259–274. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11195-018-9534-z

Speaking of Psychology (American Psychological Association)
Episode 233: How early detection could change autism diagnosis and intervention, with Geraldine Dawson, PhD

"About 1 in 36 children in the U.S. has been diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder. Geraldine Dawson, PhD, of Duke University, discusses why the number of diagnoses has risen so steeply in recent years, why it’s more common in boys than girls, and how research using artificial intelligence and brain biomarkers is making it possible to detect autism risk at younger ages than before—even in infancy."

ADHD and Learning Disabilities

ADHD: Cognitive symptoms, genetics and treatment outcomes by Russell Thompson; Naomi J. Miller (Eds.)
ISBN: 9781624171079
Publication Date: 2013
"In this book, the authors present current research in the study of the cognitive symptoms, genetics and treatment outcomes of ADHD. Topics discussed include the disadvantages and benefits of stimulant treatment; a discussion on whether professions differ in their beliefs about the causes and treatments of ADHD; motor coordination dysfunction in ADHD; nutrition optimisation in the multi-modal treatment of ADHD; and the relation between sluggish cognitive tempo and ADHD."
Bereavement, loss and learning disabilities: A guide for professionals and carers by Robin Grey
ISBN: 9781849050203
Publication Date: 2010
"Losing a loved one and coping with the subsequent adjustments that follow are a difficult fact of life, but people with learning disabilities face specific difficulties in processing and managing these changes. Adopting an integrative approach, this book acknowledges the importance of helping relationships in supporting this vulnerable group through periods of loss and bereavement. The author explains how to engage the person with a learning disability in talking therapy by creating an open dialogue. Common signs of stress, factors to consider in assessing risk and advice on how best to approach difficult subjects are presented. The role of supervision in counselling and issues surrounding terminal illness are also discussed, and practical solutions offered."
Caring for the physical and mental health of people with learning disabilities by Louise Hammond; Geoff Marston; Sherryl Gaskell; James Eva; David Perry; Anthony Kearns (Foreword by); Elin Davis (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781849051316
Publication Date: 2010
"People with learning disabilities are at greater risk of physical and psychiatric illness than the population at large, but their health needs are often not adequately supported. This book is a practical guide for those caring for people with learning disabilities living in community settings. It is designed to help the carers to better understand what the service users' health needs may be, how to recognise problems, and how to meet their needs."
Exploring experiences of advocacy by people with learning disabilities: Testimonies of resistance by Sue Ledger; Rannveig Traustadottir; Rohhss Chapman; Duncan Mitchell; Nigel Ingham (Eds.)
ISBN: 9781846425110
Publication Date: 2006
"Exploring Experiences of Advocacy by People with Learning Disabilities charts the course through which people with learning disabilities have become increasingly able to direct their own lives as fully active members of their communities. Accounts from the UK, Australia, Canada and Iceland consider both the individual pioneers of self advocacy and local and national groups that have been set up to work actively towards improved services for people with learning disabilities. The book also examines what self-advocacy means for these people and provides an overview of how opportunities and services have changed for them over the decades. Many of the personal accounts, photographs and songs included in this book will be accessible and encouraging to people with learning disabilities, and they will provide inspiring reading for professionals who work with them, family members and community and government service providers."
Hyperactive: The controversial history of ADHD by Matthew Smith
ISBN: 9781780230313
Publication Date: 2012
"Each year, doctors diagnose an average of nine percent of children between the ages of five and seventeen with attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, or ADHD. One of the most common childhood disorders, it is also one of the most controversial—since first identified in the late 1950s, everyone from medical professionals to politicians have debated its causes, its treatment, and its implications for children. Hyperactive provides the first history of ADHD, addressing why children were first diagnosed with the disorder, why biological explanations became predominant, how powerful drugs became the preferred treatment, and why alternative explanations have failed to achieve any legitimacy. Contending that hyperactive children are also a product of their social, cultural, and educational environment, Matthew Smith demonstrates how knowledge about the history of ADHD can lead to better choices about its diagnosis and treatment."
Living with learning disabilities, dying with cancer: Thirteen personal stories by Irene Tuffrey-Wijne; Sheila Hollins (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781849050272
Publication Date: 2009
"This book is a powerful and moving account of the experiences of 13 people with learning disabilities who were living with cancer. The author followed their lives as part of a 3-year research study, during which 10 people died. She spent extensive periods of time with them at their homes and day centres, in hospitals, hospices and nursing homes. In doing so, she gained a unique understanding of what it is like for individuals with learning disabilities to live with deteriorating health and how this may impact upon their families, friends and carers. How was each person's cancer diagnosed? How was their cancer and its implications explained to them? How much did they understand and how did they cope with treatment? What happened when they were dying? In answering these questions, the book exposes the suffering of people with learning disabilities at the end of their lives, but also their remarkable resilience and strength. In an optimistic final chapter, the author demonstrates how people with learning disabilities can best be supported at the end of life."
Reader's block: A history of reading differences by Matthew Rubery
ISBN: 9781503632493
Publication Date: 2022
"What does the term 'reading' mean? Matthew Rubery's exploration of the influence neurodivergence has on the ways individuals read asks us to consider that there may be no one definition. This alternative history of reading tells the stories of 'atypical' readers and the impact had on their lives by neurological conditions affecting their ability to make sense of the printed word: from dyslexia, hyperlexia, and alexia to synesthesia, hallucinations, and dementia. Rubery's focus on neurodiversity aims to transform our understanding of the very concept of reading. Drawing on personal testimonies gathered from literature, film, life writing, social media, medical case studies, and other sources to express how cognitive differences have shaped people's experiences both on and off the page, Rubery contends that there is no single activity known as reading. Instead, there are multiple ways of reading (and, for that matter, not reading) despite the ease with which we use the term. Pushing us to rethink what it means to read, Reader's Block moves toward an understanding of reading as a spectrum that is capacious enough to accommodate the full range of activities documented in this fascinating and highly original book. Read it from cover to cover, out of sequence, or piecemeal. Read it upside down, sideways, or in a mirror. For just as there is no right way to read, there is no right way to read this book. What matters is that you are doing something with it—something that Rubery proposes should be called 'reading.'"
Smart but stuck: Emotions in teens and adults with ADHD by Thomas E. Brown
ISBN: 9781118279281
Publication Date: 2014
"Smart but Stuck offers 15 true and compelling stories about intelligent, capable teens and adults who have gotten 'stuck' at school, work, and/or in social relationships because of their ADHD. Dr. Brown highlights the often unrecognized role that emotions play in this complex disorder. He explains why even very bright people with ADHD get stuck because they can focus well on some tasks that interest them, but often can't focus adequately on other important tasks and relationships. The first book to explain and illustrate the crucial role of emotions in the daily functioning of those living with ADHD Brown, Associate Director of the Yale Clinic for Attention & Related Disorders, is an internationally known authority on ADHD Drawing on the latest research findings, the book describes strategies and treatments for getting 'unstuck' to move on to a more rewarding and productive life."
Understanding motor skills in children with dyspraxia, ADHD, autism, and other learning disabilities : A guide to improving coordination by Elizabeth A. Kurtz
ISBN: 9781843108658
Publication Date: 2007
"Coordination problems often make everyday activities a challenge for children with learning disabilities. This accessible manual offers practical strategies and advice for helping children with coordination difficulties. The author explains how to recognize normal and abnormal motor development, when and how to seek help, and includes specific teaching strategies to help children with coordination difficulties succeed in the classroom, playground, and home. She describes a wide range of therapeutic methods and provides a comprehensive list of resources. Full of practical help, this is essential reading for anyone caring for, or working with, children with developmental motor concerns."
Valuing people with a learning disability by Steve Mees
ISBN: 9781907830662
Publication Date: 2012
"Most health and social care service providers claim to 'value' those with a learning disability. Yet there can sometimes be a huge gulf between stated intentions and what happens in everyday practice. In a few cases that have recently hit the headlines, there have even been allegations of systematic abuse. This timely book asks three vital questions: What do we mean by valuing? How does the process of valuing work? What needs to happen to ensure that we value people with a learning disability? Too often, practitioners tend to say 'it's all right in theory, but not in the real world.' In this book, Dr. Steve Mee draws on his experience as a practitioner and lecturer on a learning disability nursing course, in which he has successfully used stories to bridge the gap between academic theory and everyday practice. Each chapter introduces the reader to a particular area of theory and illustrates it with uniquely powerful, memorable stories from practice as well as examples from recent news and historic accounts."

ADHD with comorbid disorders: Clinical assessment and management by Steven R. Pliszka; Caryn L. Carlson; James M. Swanson
Call Number: RJ506.H9P55 1999 (Lambert)
ISBN: 1572304782
Publication Date: 1999
"Treating a child or adolescent with ADHD is especially challenging when hyperactivity and inattention are accompanied by many other symptoms. It is not uncommon to encounter such complex ADHD cases as the child who also presents with aggression or antisocial behavior, the teen who has made a suicide attempt, or the hyperactive child. Integrating the latest biomedical and psychosocial knowledge, this practice-oriented volume is designed to help clinicians meet the needs of these tough-to-treat clients. The authors review the evaluation and treatment of ADHD with major comorbidities including mood and anxiety disorders, conduct disorders, learning disorders, medical illnesses, and severe developmental disorders. Distinguishing clinical features of each condition are delineated, current psychopharmacological treatments are described, and effective approaches are presented for managing behavioral problems in the home, school, and playground."
Attention-Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder in adults by Paul H. Wender
Call Number: RC394.A85W46 1995 (Lambert)
ISBN: 0195092279
Publication Date: 1995
"Most people still think of attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) as a psychiatric disorder affecting only young children and adolescents. During the past decade, however, researchers have become convinced that ADHD is not always outgrown with age. Instead, they insist, it very often persists in later life and is a common psychiatric disorder in adults. Paul H. Wender, who has been studying and writing about this disorder for more than 25 years, is the ideal candidate to sort out the current controversy surrounding the often undiagnosed ailment. Written for psychiatrists and non-medical therapists, but also of interest to the lay reader, the book emphasizes the commonalities that emerge from the research literature and winnows the factual from the sensational or overly simplistic reports in the popular media."
A comprehensive guide to Attention Deficit Disorder in adults: Research, diagnosis, treatment by Kathleen G. Nadeau
Call Number: RC394.A85C65 1995 (Lambert)
ISBN: 0876307608
Publication Date: 1995
This volume, written by pioneering clinicians and researchers firmly convinced of the neurobiological underpinnings of ADD in adults, is the first to provide broad coverage of this burgeoning field. Written for professionals who diagnose and treat adults with ADD, it provides information from psychologists and physicians on the most current research and treatment issues regarding our understanding of ADD as a neurobiological disorder."
The learning-disabled child by Sylvia Farnham-Diggory
Call Number: RJ496.L4F37 1992 (Lambert)
ISBN: 0674519248
Publication Date: 1992
"Who is the learning-disabled child? As theories multiply and research accumulates, this pressing question persists, leaving parents and educators and, particularly, students at a loss. The Learning-Disabled Child aims to provide an answer. A broad-based account of what is currently known and done about learning disabilities, the book gets at the roots of this perplexing problem—and offers a new outlook for its treatment."

ADHD in the schools: Assessment and intervention strategies by George J. DuPaul; Gary Stoner; Robert Reid (Foreword by)
Call Number: LC4713.4.D87 1994 (Lambert)
ISBN: 9781462516810
Publication Date: 2014
"This highly regarded practitioner guide provides state-of-the-art tools for supporting the academic and behavioral success of PreK-12 students with attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD). The authors explain the learning and behavior difficulties associated with ADHD and describe screening and assessment procedures that facilitate data-based decision making. They show how to develop individualized intervention plans that integrate behavioral, academic, and social supports, in partnership with teachers and parents. Strategies for collaborating with physicians and monitoring students' medication response are also presented."
Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder in adulthood: A practitioner's handbook by Santo J. Triolo
Call Number: RC394.A85T75 1999 (Lambert and Ladera)
ISBN: 0876308906
Publication Date: 1998
"Most clinicians rely on only an interview to diagnose ADHD in adults. With the recent media 'overkill' about ADHD, more and more patients have already read numerous articles and books about the topic making it even harder for practitioners to differentiate between symptoms due to ADHD and symptoms of a hypersensitive patient. As a result, the clinician should no longer rely on just an interview but a more sophisticated and reliable method. Attention Deficit: A Practitioner's Handbook offers practical guidance to diagnose ADHD with special consideration to comorbid and differential diagnoses. This volume also challenges practitioners to move beyond current diagnostic criteria and presents arguments for standardized testing in addition to the traditional interview."
Encyclopedia of school psychology by Steven Lee (Editor)
ISBN: 9781452265407
Publication Date: 2005-04-27
"The Encyclopedia of School Psychology is the first comprehensive guide to this field, featuring the latest research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment. Approximately 250 entries by 175 contributing authors from psychology, education and counseling, child development, and special education address student success, behavior disorders, intelligence testing, learning disabilities, strategies to improve academic skills, and more."

ADHD: Attention Deficit and Hyperactivity Disorders

Ejournals (EBSCO): 2009 - 2019.
"ADHD: Attention Deficit and Hyperactivity Disorders publishes the results of basic and clinical research contributing to the understanding, diagnosis and treatment of all psychiatric syndromes in which attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) may be a feature. Regular features will include: original research reports; review papers; case studies; short communications; topical comments and news and letters to the editor."

Dyslexia: An International Journal of Research and Practice

Ejournals (EBSCO): 1997 - present.
"Dyslexia provides reviews and reports of research, assessment and intervention practice. In many fields of enquiry theoretical advances often occur in response to practical needs; and a central aim of the journal is to bring together researchers and practitioners in the field of dyslexia, so that each can learn from the other. Interesting developments, both theoretical and practical, are being reported in many different countries: Dyslexia is a forum in which a knowledge of these developments can be shared by readers in all parts of the world. The scope of the journal includes relevant aspects of Cognitive, Educational, Developmental and Clinical Psychology; Child and Adult Special Education; Remedial Education Therapy and Counseling; and Neuroscience, Psychiatry and General Medicine."

Learning Disability Quarterly

Ejournals (EBSCO): 1978 - present.
"Learning Disability Quarterly (LDQ) publishes high-quality research and scholarship concerning children, youth, and adults with learning disabilities. Consistent with that purpose, the journal seeks to publish articles with the potential to impact and improve educational outcomes, opportunities, and services."

Learning Disabilities Research and Practice

Ejournals (EBSCO): 2001 - present.
"Because learning disabilities is a multidisciplinary field of study,Learning Disabilities Research and Practice (LDRP) publishes articles addressing the nature and characteristics of LD students, promising research, program development, assessment practices, and teaching methodologies from different disciplines. In so doing, LDRP provides information of great value to professionals involved in a variety of different disciplines including school psychology, counseling, reading, and medicine. Two separate sections—research and practice—are distinguished with respect to content and manuscript style."

Besika, A., Collard, P. C., & Coogan, J. (2018). Attitudes of therapists towards people with learning disabilities. Counselling & Psychotherapy Research, 18(1), 89–101. https://doi.org/10.1002/capr.12139

Green, E. J., Drewes, A. A., & Kominski, J. M. (2013). Use of mandalas in Jungian play therapy with adolescents diagnosed with ADHD. International Journal of Play Therapy, 22(3), 159–172. https://doi.org/10.1037/a0033719.supp (Supplemental)

Hart, S. M., Pascucci, M., Sood, S., & Barrett, E. M. (2020). Value, vulnerability and voice: An integrative review on research assent. British Journal of Learning Disabilities, 48(2), 154–161. https://doi.org/10.1111/bld.12309

Kawai, T. (2009). Union and separation in the therapy of pervasive developmental disorders and ADHD. The Journal of Analytical Psychology, 54(5), 659–675. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1468-5922.2009.01812.x

May, B., & LaMont, E. (2014). Rethinking learning disabilities in the college classroom: A multicultural perspective. Social Work Education, 33(7), 959–975. https://doi.org/10.1080/02615479.2014.895806

Simpson, G., & Price, V. (2010). From inclusion to exclusion: Some unintended consequences of valuing people. British Journal of Learning Disabilities, 38(3), 180–186. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1468-3156.2009.00572.x

Podcasts:

Speaking of Psychology (American Psychological Association)
Episode 161: ADHD among children and adults, with Margaret Sibley, PhD

"For many people, the stereotypical image of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) is an 8-year-old boy who can’t sit still in class. But in recent decades, scientists have gained a more sophisticated understanding of the causes and lifelong consequences of the disorder. Margaret Sibley, PhD, of Seattle Children’s Hospital, talks about the biological underpinnings of ADHD, what researchers have learned about how it manifests in childhood, adolescence and adulthood, treatment options, and why the pandemic may have caused an uptick in ADHD diagnoses."

Neurodiversity Studies

Alphabet kids: From ADD to Zellweger syndrome: A guide to developmental, neurobiological and psychological disorders for parents and professionals by Robbie Woliver
ISBN: 9781843108801
Publication Date: 2008
"From ASD (Autism Spectrum Disorder) to ZS (Zellweger Syndrome), there seems to be an alphabet disorder for almost every behavior, from those caused by serious, rare genetic diseases to more common learning disabilities that hinder children's academic and social progress. Alphabet Kids have disorders that are often concurrent, interconnected or mistaken for one another: for example, the frequent combination of ASD, OCD, SID and ADHD. Robbie Woliver covers 70 childhood disorders, providing information on causes, cures, treatments and prognoses. This comprehensive, easy-to-read go-to guide will help parents to sort through all the interconnected childhood developmental, neurobiological and psychological disorders and serve as a roadmap to help start the families' journey for correct diagnoses, effective treatment and better understanding of their Alphabet Kids."
The development of giftedness and talent across the life span by Frances Degen Horowitz; Rena Faye Subotnik; Dona J. Matthews
ISBN: 9781433804144
Publication Date: 2009
"In this volume, renowned developmental psychologists and experts in gifted education come together to explore giftedness from early childhood through the elder years. Focusing on the practical implications of emerging theoretical perspectives and empirical findings, contributors examine prediction and measurement, diversity issues, and psychosocial factors as they relate to developing talent in different domains."
Neurodiversity: Discovering the extraordinary gifts of autism, ADHD, dyslexia, and other brain differences by Thomas Armstrong
ISBN: 9780738214115
Publication Date: 2010
"A new term has emerged from the disability movement in the past decade to help change the way we think about neurological disorders: Neurodiversity. With the sensibility of Oliver Sacks and Kay Redfield Jamison, psychologist Thomas Armstrong offers a revolutionary perspective that reframes many neuropsychological disorders as part of the natural diversity of the human brain rather than as definitive illnesses. Neurodiversity emphasizes their positive dimensions, showing how people with ADHD, bipolar disorder, and other conditions have inherent evolutionary advantages that, matched with the appropriate environment or ecological niche, can help them achieve dignity and wholeness in their lives."
Neurodiversity studies: A new critical paradigm by Hanna Bertilsdotter Rosqvist, Nick Chown & Anna Stenning (Eds)
ISBN: 9781000073805
Publication Date: 2020
"Building on work in feminist studies, queer studies and critical race theory, this volume challenges the universality of propositions about human nature, by questioning the boundaries between predominant neurotypes and 'others', including dyslexics, autistics and ADHDers. This is the first work of its kind to bring cutting-edge research across disciplines to the concept of neurodiversity. It offers in-depth explorations of the themes of cure/prevention/eugenics; neurodivergent wellbeing; cross-neurotype communication; neurodiversity at work; and challenging brain-bound cognition. Working at the crossroads between sociology, critical psychology, medical humanities, critical disability studies, and critical autism studies, and sharing theoretical ground with critical race studies and critical queer studies, the proposed new field—neurodiversity studies—will be of interest to people working in all these areas."
Reweaving the autistic tapestry: Autism, Asperger's Syndrome, and ADHD by Lisa Blakemore-Brown
ISBN: 9781846423000
Publication Date: 2001
"Blakemore-Brown, a psychologist, uses the tapestry metaphor to help parents and professionals understand the complexly interwoven nature of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder and autism spectrum disorders. This is by no means, however, a self-help guide in layperson's language. Blakemore-Brown argues that traditional approaches to such disorders, which seek to ameliorate behavioral problems in isolation, can actually be counterproductive. Instead she suggests that focusing on specific threads, such as communication ability or hyperactivity, as parts of a larger picture can lead to better assessment and more effective treatment. She emphasizes early intervention and finding the approach that's right for each child."
The science of making friends: Helping socially challenged teens and young adults by Elizabeth Laugeson; John Elder. Robison (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781118127216
Publication Date: 2013
"This book offers parents a step-by-step guide to making and keeping friends for teens and young adults with social challenges—such as those diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder, ADHD, bipolar, or other conditions. With the book's concrete rules and steps of social etiquette, parents will be able to assist in improving conversational skills, expanding social opportunities, and developing strategies for handling peer rejection. Each chapter provides helpful overview information for parents; lessons with clear bulleted lists of key rules and steps; and expert advice on how to present the material to a teen or young adult. Throughout the book are role-playing exercises for practicing each skill, along with homework assignments to ensure the newly learned skills can be applied easily to a school, work, or other 'real life' setting. Bonus content shows role-plays of skills covered, demonstrating the right and wrong way to enter conversations, schedule get-togethers, deal with conflict, and much more."
Understanding other minds: Perspectives from developmental social neuroscience by Simon Baron-Cohen; Michael Lombardo; Helen Tager-Flusberg (Eds.)
ISBN: 9780199692972
Publication Date: 2013
"Over its previous two editions, Understanding Other Minds has established itself as a classic text on autism and theory of mind. In the 15 years since the last edition was prepared, the neuroimaging literature on 'theory of mind' has expanded significantly, revealing new brain regions and their role in regard to 'theory of mind'. Other major changes include developments in the study of infants and in the fields of hormones and genetics. Such studies have revealed evidence of both heritability (from twin studies), some molecular genetic associations, and a specific role for both sex steroid hormones (such as foetal testosterone) and neuropeptide hormones, such as oxytocin. The new edition brings together an international team of leading writers and researchers from psychology, psychiatry, neuroscience, and philosophy to present a state-of-the-art review of scientific research in this important field—one that will be essential for all those involved in the fields of developmental psychology and neuroscience, as well as psychiatrists and philosophers."
Understanding sensory dysfunction: Learning, development and sensory dysfunction in autism spectrum disorders, ADHD, learning disabilities and bipolar disorder by Polly Emmons; Liz Anderson
ISBN: 9781846421501
Publication Date: 2005
"Understanding sensory dysfunction is a clear and comprehensive resource to identifying and addressing sensory dysfunction in children, using a range of practical strategies to help them reach their full potential at home, at school and in the community. The authors explain the causes, contributing factors, symptoms and associated behaviors of sensory dysfunction, particularly when found in conditions such as autism spectrum disorders (ASDs), ADHD and bipolar disorder. Focusing on early intervention, they provide a host of tried and tested integration activities, assessment and curricular modifications, treatment options and useful equipment and resources that ultimately aim to limit or prevent the interference of sensory dysfunction with successful learning, socialization and skills development."

The broken mirror: Understanding and treating body dysmorphic disorder by Katharine Phillips
Call Number: RC569.5.B64P48 1996 (Lambert)
ISBN: 0195083172
Publication Date: 1996
"Jane is an attractive woman in her mid-thirties, tall, thin, and stately. She believes she is breathtakingly ugly. Jane has body dysmorphic disorder, or BDD. In The Broken Mirror, Dr. Katharine Phillips draws on years of clinical practice and detailed interviews with over 200 patients to bring readers the first book on this debilitating disease, in which sufferers are obsessed by perceived flaws in their appearance. Phillips describes severe cases, such as Jane's, but also a multitude of milder cases, such as Carl, a successful lawyer who uses his work to distract him from his supposedly thinning hair, yet says that he thinks about it constantly. Profoundly affected by the disease themselves, since sufferers often refuse to attend weddings and other family events, or constantly ask loved ones for reassurance about their looks, those who care about someone with BDD will find both helpful advice and reassurance in this indispensable book."
Extraordinary minds: Portraits of exceptional individuals and an examination of our extraordinariness by Howard Gardner
Call Number: BF412.G27 1997 (Lambert)
ISBN: 0465045154
Publication Date: 1997
"Fifteen years ago, psychologist and educator Howard Gardner introduced the idea of multiple intelligences, challenging the presumption that intelligence consists of verbal or analytic abilities only—those intelligences that schools tend to measure. He argued for a broader understanding of the intelligent mind, one that embraces creation in the arts and music, spatial reasoning, and the ability to understand ourselves and others. What can we learn about ourselves from the experiences of the extraordinary? Interestingly, Gardner finds that an excess of raw power is not the most impressive characteristic shared by superachievers; rather, these extraordinary individuals all have had a special talent for identifying their own strengths and weaknesses, for accurately analyzing the events of their own lives, and for converting into future successes those inevitable setbacks that mark every life."
From axons to identity: Neurological explorations of the nature of the self by Todd E. Feinberg
Call Number: BF697 .F443 2009 (Ladera)
ISBN: 9780393705577
Publication Date: 2009
"A leading neuroscientist offers an intriguing scientific journey to understanding the neurobiology of the self. What can dementia, delusions, and other neurological disorders teach us about how the brain creates personal identity and a unified sense of self? Here, a leading neurobiologist offers an intriguing scientific approach to understanding the neurobiology of the self. Drawing on both the latest neuroscientific research, as well as the author's decades of experience with neurological patients, From Axons to Identity examines the link between brain and identity in fascinating new ways. Dr. Feinberg presents case studies of individuals with brain pathologies and unusual psychiatric syndromes that cause them to deny parts of their bodies or believe in the presence of mysterious imposters or imaginary friends, and then presents a groundbreaking new theory of these conditions that relates them to the normal course of psychological development. Dr. Feinberg presents an engaging new theory with far-reaching implications for the link between brain and identity."
The imp of the mind: Exploring the silent epidemic of obsessive bad thoughts by Lee Baer
Call Number: RC533.B245 2002 (Lambert)
ISBN: 9780452283077
Publication Date: 2002
"In the first book to fully examine obsessive bad thoughts, Dr. Lee Baer combines the latest research with his own extensive experience in treating this widespread syndrome. Drawing on information ranging from new advances in brain technology to pervasive social taboos, Dr. Baer explores the root causes of bad thoughts, why they can spiral out of control, and how to recognize the crucial difference between harmless and dangerous bad thoughts. An illuminating and accessible guide to the kinds of thoughts that create extreme fear, guilt, and worry, The Imp of the Mind provides concrete solutions to a tormenting and debilitating disorder."
Kids in the syndrome mix of ADHD, LD, Asperger's, Tourette's, bipolar, and more!: The one stop guide for parents, teachers, and other professionals by Martin L. Kutscher; Tony Attwood (Contribution by); Robert R. Wolff (Contribution by)
Call Number: RJ506.B44K88 2005 (Lambert)
ISBN: 1843108100
Publication Date: 2005
"Kids in the Syndrome Mix is a concise, scientifically up-to-date, all-in-one guide to the whole range of often co-existing neuro-behavioral disorders in children—from attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), obsessive-compulsive disorder, and bipolar disorder, to autistic spectrum disorders, nonverbal learning disabilities, sensory integration problems, and executive dysfunction. Dr. Kutscher provides accessible information on causes, symptoms, interactions with other conditions, and treatments. He presents effective behavioral strategies for responding to children who display traits of these disorders—whether at home, at school, or in other settings—along with case vignettes and practical tips."
Obsessions: The twisted cruelty by Francesco Bisagni
Call Number: RC533 .B57 2017 (Lambert)
ISBN: 9781782205302
Publication Date: 2017
"This book explores the interrelatedness between obsessive compulsive disorders, thinking disorders, and depression. The issue is considered both from a psychiatric viewpoint and from a psychodynamic perspective. The age of the cases presented in the book ranges from childhood through adolescence to adulthood. Obsessions: The Twisted Cruelty is a challenging contribution to contemporary clinical debate, especially regarding the role of analytically-oriented psychotherapy in the treatment of OCD, and how to deal with the psychiatric treatment and combine the two approaches, while keeping the focus on the transference-countertransference interplay."
Preparing for life: The complete guide for transitioning to adulthood for those with autism and Asperger's Syndrome by Jed Baker
Call Number: RC553 .A88.B35 2005 (Lambert)
ISBN: 9781932565331
Publication Date: 2006
"Typically, ASD high school graduates are unprepared for the transition to independence. Early, ongoing training in the social skills crucial to establishing successful adult relationships—in college, vocational school, residential living, or on the job—can help. Preparing for Life guides readers through the legal, financial, educational, vocational, and community resources available after graduation. This easy-to-follow resource offers a complete toolbox of social skills and the means to attain them."
Seeing what others cannot see: The hidden advantages of visual thinkers and differently wired brains by Thomas G. West
Call Number: BF367 .W47 2017 (Lambert)
ISBN: 9781633883017
Publication Date: 2017
"For over 25 years, Thomas G. West has been a leading advocate for the importance of visual thinking, visual technologies and the creative potential of individuals with dyslexia and other learning differences. In this new book, he investigates how different kinds of brains and different ways of thinking can help to make discoveries and solve problems in innovative and unexpected ways. West focuses on what he has learned over the years from a group of extraordinarily creative, intelligent, and interesting people—those with dyslexia, Asperger's syndrome, and other different ways of thinking, learning, and working."

The adolescent and adult neuro-diversity handbook: Asperger syndrome, ADHD, dyslexia, dyspraxia, and related conditions by Claire Salter (Contribution by); Sarah Hendrickx
ISBN: 9781843109808
Publication Date: 2009
"Increasing numbers of adults are realizing that they have been living with an undiagnosed developmental condition, yet most information and support focuses on children. This leaves many adults confused and in the dark. The adolescent and adult neuro-diversity handbook is a handy first-reference point guide to the full range of developmental conditions as they affect adolescents and adults. Each chapter focuses on a different condition, describing its history, causes and characteristics, its implications for the individual, diagnosis and assessment, treatments and approaches, and strategies for providing support and self-support. A wide range of conditions are covered, including Autistic Spectrum Disorders, Dyslexia, Dyspraxia, ADHD, OCD, Tourette's and Anxiety Disorders. The adolescent and adult neuro-diversity handbook is an invaluable resource for health and social care practitioners, as well as for individuals who feel that they may be living with an undiagnosed developmental condition."
The Oxford handbook of emotional development by Daniel Dukes; Eric Walle; Andrea Samson (Eds.)
ISBN: 0198855907
Publication Date: 2022
"Emotional Development is a topic that embraces a range of disciplines, including, psychology, neuroscience, sociology, primatology, philosophy, history, cognitive science, computer science, and education. The Oxford Handbook of Emotional Development is the first volume of its kind to include such a multidisciplinary group of experts to consider this topic, and as such, provides perhaps the most complete examination yet of how emotions develop and manifest themselves neuronally, intra- and interpersonally, across different cultures and species, and over time. The reader can enjoy state of the art critical analysis of emotional development from different viewpoints, which, whether dipped into casually or read as a whole, will provide the best view of not only what we know today about emotional development, but also where the future study of emotional development lies."
The Oxford handbook of obsessive compulsive and spectrum disorders by Gail Steketee (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195376210
Publication Date: 2011
"The Oxford Handbook of Obsessive Compulsive and Spectrum Disorders reviews current literature on obsessive compulsive disorder and its associated spectrum conditions - body dysmorphic disorder, hoarding, trichotillomania, tic disorders, and Tourette's Syndrome. Authored by leading experts in these fields, these 27 chapters summarize and synthesize current findings, providing an authoritative guide for practice and research in this unique subject area, with sections dedicated to phenomenology and epidemiology, biological features, genetic factors, neurological features, and cognitive processing models for understanding how people with OCD and spectrum conditions respond to information."

Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders

Journal of Developmental and Physical Disabilities

Ejournals (EBSCO): 1988 - present.
"The Journal of Developmental and Physical Disabilities serves as a unified outlet for the dissemination of work with handicapped populations. Research and clinical reports from a variety of services for multihandicapped individuals discuss such concerns as the deaf-blind, cerebral-palsied deaf, blind-mentally retarded, and emotionally disturbed retarded. Valuable case studies detail clinically relevant research findings from many professional fields including psychology, rehabilitation, special education, counseling, social work, psychiatry, nursing, and rehabilitation medicine."

Boaz, M. (2022). Specialisation from an existential perspective: The value of liminality and existing-between-worlds. Existential Analysis, 33(1), 27–41.

Brady, H. (2022). Neurodiversity in the workplace. Occupational Medicine, 72(3), 190. https://doi.org/10.1093/occmed/kqab123

Camarata, S. (2022). Balancing respect for individuals, human rights, neurodiversity, and positive behavioral support in intervention research for a spectrum of autistic people. Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research, 65(4), 1607–1609. https://doi.org/10.1044/2022_JSLHR-21-00660

Farquhar-Leicester, A. L., Tebbe, E., & Scheel, M. (2022). The intersection of transgender and gender-diverse identity and neurodiversity among college students: An exploration of minority stress. Psychology of Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity. https://doi.org/10.1037/sgd0000603.supp (Supplemental)

Kapoor, S. (2008). Meares-Irlen syndrome—A need for increasing awareness in the general public. Ophthalmic and Physiological Optics, 28(3), 291–292. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1475-1313.2008.00567.x

Malli, M. A., Forrester-Jones, R., & Murphy, G. (2016). Stigma in youth with Tourette’s syndrome: A systematic review and synthesis. European Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, 25(2), 127–139. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00787-015-0761-x

McConnell, E. A., & Minshew, R. (2023). Feminist therapy at the intersection of gender diversity and neurodiversity. Women & Therapy, 46(1), 36–57. https://doi.org/10.1080/02703149.2023.2189776

Tétreault, S., Freeman, A., Carrière, M., Beaupré, P., Gascon, H., & Marier Deschênes, P. (2014). Understanding the parents of children with special needs: Collaboration between health, social and education networks. Child: Care, Health and Development, 40(6), 825–832. https://doi.org/10.1111/cch.12105

Ward, J. (2021). Synaesthesia as a model system for understanding variation in the human mind and brain. Cognitive Neuropsychology, 38(4), 259–278. https://doi.org/10.1080/02643294.2021.1950133

Podcasts:

Speaking of Psychology (American Psychological Association)
Episode 161: ADHD among children and adults, with Margaret Sibley, PhD

Speaking of Psychology (American Psychological Association)
Episode 233: How early detection could change autism diagnosis and intervention, with Geraldine Dawson, PhD

Library Guide to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Autism Spectrum Disorders

Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders

Related articles:

ADHD and Learning Disabilities

ADHD: Attention Deficit and Hyperactivity Disorders

Dyslexia: An International Journal of Research and Practice

Learning Disability Quarterly

Learning Disabilities Research and Practice

Related articles:

Podcasts:

Neurodiversity Studies

Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders

Journal of Developmental and Physical Disabilities

Related articles:

Podcasts: