Graduate Research Library: Library Guide to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: Journals & Periodicals

Journals

Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology

Ejournals (EBSCO): 1995 - present.
"Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology seeks to advance the psychological science of culture, ethnicity, and race through the publication of empirical research, as well as theoretical, conceptual, and integrative review articles that will stimulate further empirical research, on basic and applied psychological issues relevant to racial and ethnic groups that have been historically subordinated, underrepresented, or underserved."

Diaspora: A journal of transnational studies

Ejournals (EBSCO): 1991 - present.
"Diaspora is the official publication of the Asian American Psychological Association is dedicated to the multidisciplinary study of the history, culture, social structure, politics and economics of both the traditional diasporas – Armenian, Greek, and Jewish – and those transnational dispersions which in the past three decades have chosen to identify themselves as ‘diasporas.’ These encompass groups ranging from the African-American to the Ukrainian-Canadian, from the Caribbean-British to the new East and South Asian diasporas."

International Journal of Critical Diversity Studies

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals: 2021 - present.
"International Journal of Critical Diversity Studies aims to provide an undisciplinary platform for critical engagement with hierarchies of power that create and sustain privilege and oppression along axes of difference. Areas of interest include the constructions of social locations and positionalities; intersections, co-constructions and co-constitutions of systems of oppression; race; gender; sexuality; dis/ability; class; age etc.; the politics of knowledge production; the politics of being and affect; the politics of history and time; the politics of geography and location; reproduction and resistance social injustice; reframing differences."

International Journal of Critical Pedagogy

Open Access Journal: 2010 - present.
"The International Journal of Critical Pedagogy is committed to publishing original articles that propose innovative understandings and applications of critical pedagogy. The journal covers a wide range of perspectives in areas such as: Diversity, Popular culture, Media literacy, Critical praxis and Experimental methodologies."

Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology

SAGE Journals: 1999 - present.
"The Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology publishes papers that focus on the interrelations between culture and psychological processes. Submitted manuscripts may report results from either cross-cultural comparative research or single culture studies. Research that concerns the ways in which culture, and related concepts such as ethnicity, affects the thinking and behavior of individuals, as well as how individual thought and behavior define and reflect aspects of culture are appropriate for the Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology".

The Journal of Cultural Diversity

Academic Search Premier: 2003 - present
"The Journal of Cultural Diversity (JCD), published quarterly, is the journal of choice for educators, researchers and practitioners involved in cultural diversity and the delivery of care, the development and implementation of programs, the formulation of policies, and the pursuit and analysis of research. First published in 1994, JCD unites theory, research and practice issues related to cultural diversity from the perspective of a variety of disciplines under one cover. Articles are selected by a distinguished panel of nurse experts in the field of cultural diversity."

Journal of Diversity in Higher Education

Academic Search Premier: 2003 - present.
"Journal of Diversity in Higher Education (JCD), largely publishes empirical research focused on issues related to issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion in post-secondary environments. Our manuscripts address the experiences and outcomes of individuals from underrepresented and underserved communities, focusing on institutional barriers and challenges, patterns of access and achievement, and the impact of engaging with diverse students, faculty, and administrators."

MELUS: Multi-Ethnic Literature of the United States

JSTOR Arts & Sciences III Archive Collection: 1974 - present (Full-text delay: 4 years).
"First published in 1974, MELUS features peer-reviewed articles, interviews and reviews encompassing the multi-ethnic scope of American literature past and present. MELUS is published by The Society for the Study of the Multi- Ethnic Literature of the United States, which endeavors to expand the definition of American literature through the study and teaching of Latino American, Native American, African American, Asian and Pacific American, and ethnically specific Euro-American literary works, their authors, and their cultural contexts."

New Diversities

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journal: 1999 - present.
"New Diversities is a peer-reviewed and open-access interdisciplinary journal seeking to promote debate and conceptual development around issues of diversity and social difference. It welcomes submissions, in both traditional and innovative form, that link substantive analyses with critical perspectives on the modes, politics, representations and consequences of social differentiation."

Peace & Change: A Journal of Peace Research

Ejournals (EBSCO): 1992 - present.
"Peace & Change cosponsored by the Peace History Society and the Consortium on Peace Research, Education and Development, publishes scholarly and interpretive articles relating to the achievement of a peaceful, just, and humane society. It seeks to transcend national, disciplinary and occupational boundaries and build bridges between peace research, education and action."

Radical History Review

Ejournals (EBSCO): 1975 - present.
"For more than a quarter of a century, Radical History Review has stood at the point where rigorous historical scholarship and active political engagement converge. The journal is edited by a collective of historians—men and women with diverse backgrounds, research interests, and professional perspectives. Articles in RHR address issues of gender, race, sexuality, imperialism, and class, stretching the boundaries of historical analysis to explore Western and non-Western histories. RHR includes sections devoted to public history and the art of teaching as well as reviews of a wide range of media—from books to television and from Web sites to museum exhibitions—thus celebrating the vast potential for historical learning in the twenty-first century."

Apogee

Issue archives: 2016 - present.
"Apogee is a journal of literature and art that encourages the thoughtful exploration of identity and its intersections, including but not limited to: race, gender, sexuality, class, and ability. We pay tribute to the Black feminist Combahee River Collective in our recognition that “the major systems of oppression are interlocking,” and to that end, work to combat the domination of white, cis-heteronormative, patriarchal voices in our literary landscape. We feature fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and visual art. Our purpose is threefold: (1) to publish fresh work that interrogates the aesthetic and political status quo, (2) to provide a platform for underrepresented voices, prioritizing artists and writers of color (3) to model more radical conversations and practices regarding equity and publishing."

The Crisis

Academic Search Premier: 1993 - present.
"The Crisis magazine is the offical publication of the NAACP and the nation's oldest African American publication. It was created in 1910 by renowned historian, civil rights activist, sociologist and NAACP co-founder W. E. B. Du Bois. Today, The Crisis focuses on social justice issues, Black history, and African American art and culture. As Du Bois intended, it remains committed to: Battling tirelessly for the rights of humanity and the highest ideals of democracy; Telling the world the facts; Exposing injustice and propose solutions; Speaking for ourselves and to speak the truth to power; Serving as a trustworthy record of the darker races and a reliable antidote to ignorance; Shaping and strengthen our collective consciousness; Serving humbly and forthrightly as memory and conscience, as spirit and heart."

The Deaf Poets Society

Issue archives: 2016 - present.
"The Deaf Poets Society is an online literary journal that publishes poetry and art by D/deaf and/or disabled writers and artists. Founded in 2016, our mission is to provide a venue for D/deaf and disability literature and art, as well as to connect readers with established and emerging talent in the field. We're looking for narratives about the D/deaf and/or disabled experience that complicate or altogether undo the dominant and typically marginalizing rhetoric about deafness or disability. We especially want to highlight work that investigates the complexity of the experience across identities. Whether you're drawing from experiences related to gender, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, race, or any other marginalized identity, we want your voice in our journal. For more on our vision, check out our manifesto published in ANMLY (formerly called Drunken Boat)."

The Los Angeles Blade

Print edition archives: 2017 - present.
"The Los Angeles Blade covers Los Angeles and California news, politics, opinion, arts and entertainment and features national and international coverage from the Blade’s award-winning reporting team. LA’s only weekly LGBT newspaper is also the city’s largest, most frequently distributed media in print and online. We also publish Washington Blade in D.C and are the nation’s only LGBT or alternative media member of the White House Press Corp."

New Mobility Magazine

Issue archives: 2016 - present.
"New Mobility is about exploring and enjoying life as a wheelchair user. With authentic voices and authoritative information, NM embodies the truth that living life with a mobility device can be rich and rewarding and fulfilling. As the member publication of United Spinal Association, the print edition of NM is available for free as part of the organization’s mission to enhance the quality of life of people with spinal cord injuries and related disabilities." (Online issues available 2016-present.)

Muzzle Magazine

Issue archives: 2010 - present.
"For the past decade, Muzzle Magazine has published writing of revolution and revelation, and in 2020, on the precipice of a new decade, we will continue seeking submissions that move us not just in feeling, but also in intention. We resist the notion that a journal must have a fixed aesthetic, or that submissions for a new issue should mimic the style or approach of poems in previous issues. Instead, we are looking for poems that move (us) beyond. Institutionalized hate, discrimination, exploitation, rape, violence, tangible and intangible theft, and other abuses of power are older than this country. To that end, we are dedicated to upholding marginalized voices, and prioritize submissions by BIPOC, LGBTQIA+, and disAbled authors. We are seeking new answers to old questions and old answers to new questions. We are seeking something we don’t know how to name yet."

The Washington Blade

EBSCO Open Access Journals: 2010 - present.
"The Washington Blade was founded in 1969 as a black and white, one-sheet community newsletter distributed in D.C.-area bars. In October 2009, the Blade celebrated its 40th anniversary as an award-winning news source with a large following in print and online. Readers locally and around the world have come to rely on the Blade’s unmatched coverage of LGBT news, earning the paper the moniker 'the newspaper of record for the LGBT community.'"

Florido, A. (2022). What the end of affirmative action could mean for college diversity. [Radio broadcast transcript]. Weekend All Things Considered (NPR).

A new short story collection showcases the diversity of the Black Muslim experience. (2023). [Radio broadcast transcript]. Weekend All Things Considered (NPR).

Ramos, S. (2023). Diversity at the Oscars. [TV series episode]. Good Morning America (ABC) 1.

Schmitz, R. (2023). What colleges can do about diversity after Supreme Court’s affirmative action ruling. [Radio broadcast transcript]. Morning Edition (NPR).

Skores, A. (2023). Anti-’woke’ group targets Southwest Airlines for pro-LGBTQ and DEI efforts. The Dallas Morning News.

Telford, T. (2023). Critics of corporate diversity efforts emerge, even as initiatives falter. The Washington Post.

Wells, N. (2023). Plan to promote equity, diversity, inclusion released. Toronto Star, (Canada).